Very quick update (unlike hospital waiting times endured today)

As seems an unfortunate tradition I get to do the WTF o’clock updates having left May in hospital.

A brief factual timeline of our day since May’s post:

11:50 – I ordered taxi, thinking it would take about 20-30 minutes – it took 4 minutes catching us completely off-guard. Alas the last efficiently timed encounter we had.

12:10 – arrive at A&E

14:35 – seen by triage handed over referral letter, they took details ordered a blood test with some skepticism saying that it was probably just a baker’s cyst.

14:45 – blood taken and we were told we could go and get ourselves some lunch as blood result would take about an hour, so we did at the fairly pleasant M&S café on site.

15:45 – back for results and there was elevated fibrous material, so told to go and get a scan, meaning a painful walk back across to the other side of the hospital, feeling too British to ask for a wheelchair when there were people in various states of decrepitude being wheeled past in chairs and trolleys.

16:15 – scan showed there was a clot behind May’s left knee

16:30 – transferred to Clinical Decision Unit (CDU), which we had endless and repeated opportunity to observe as the A&E dumping ground for anyone threatening to take over the 4 hour ‘breach’ time before being admitted properly or patched up and sent on their way.

16:45 – on admission vitals were taken and some concern expressed about May’s high tapping rate, so an ECG plugged in that showed some strain on the heart… oxygen SATs were still good though, so no panic. By the time the Dr had reviewed the  DVT diagnoses and ECG and seen us May was getting quite breathless giving her potted version of recent shenanigans for about the fifth time that day. Dr suggested chest X-Ray and CT scan to check for clots elsewhere.

17:30ish – chest X-Ray, not told the result so returned to CDU

Then we waited – and waited  – and waited… CT had huge rush of emergencies apparently.

About 21:00 May finally got to go in the CT scanner – a very strange experience, which she will have to relay personally.

Then we waited – and waited – and waited…

I think we finally got confirmation that CT scan showed a (couple of?) small clot(s?) on the lungs too at about 23:00 – we were told therefore despite the acute lack of beds – endless shuffling, hassling and shifting of beds we witnessed being discussed – that May would be kept in overnight.

At 00:30 a CDU bed slot became available so that was made up for a temporary spot for May to get some sleep… yes, we had been in a ‘chair’ slot up until that point.

I made my way home to grab a bite to eat, email work, and post this… and now to bed for me too, perchance to sleep.

30 responses to “Very quick update (unlike hospital waiting times endured today)

  • bionicbrooklynite

    Argh! As if you both didn’t have more than enough to be worrying over! I very much hope those clots go the fuck away, pronto. Thank you for the update. I worry, way over on the other side of the big pond.

  • persnickety

    Oh the lung scan CTs are just weird.
    It’s not fun, although, at least the clots have been noted and there is monitoring of some form happening. Hopefully things improve from here?

  • Hat

    Thanks for the update H. Yes totally WTF o clock indeed, I actually tried to figure out for a second what time it would be when you sent this, and all i could figure was MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. So sorry all this crap happening to you guys. Its not Fair at all. Hope she sleeps well and they figure it all out quickly and make her well again. Then you go on vacation, although now with DVT I’m not sure taking a plan to the Tropics would be best. maybe a cruise, one with no freaking kids. Perhaps IVF treatments could have some sort of insurance policy that if it doesnt work out, they give you a wonderful vacation all inclusive, small consolation prize but it would still be nice since it seems so stupid to have paid so much to get so freaking crap in return. not their fault but just saying ,it cant hurt to ask them if they’d send you on Holiday once she is feeling better. Just enjoy the two of you for a bit. Maybe? Man life really sucks I am cramping and pmsing myself and so im sorry for my manic fixation on sending you guys on holiday.

  • starrhillgirl

    Fuck.
    All my love to you both.

  • sheilamcameron

    Well, it’s a good thing they’ve caught it (well done GP) but seriously, this is just not fair. Someone give May and H a break.

  • Melissia

    My heart is in my throat as I read this. I am so sorry all of this is happening on top of the loss of your baby. Life is just shit. I am so glad that May got a bed and that she is in hospital being looked after, PE’s can be scary things. I have had them and not loving hospitals, there is really no other place to be except there while waiting for the blooding thinning medicine to kick in.

  • wombattwo

    Just… WTF????!!!
    Well done GP, but goodness, I wish you didn’t have to deal with this too. Talk about unfair.
    I am completely at a loss for what to say, but sending you both my love and prayers.

  • Robyn

    Love and prayers from me as well. Hope things are on the improve. Last bloody thing you needed at this moment but seems to be completely reflective of the massive vendetta the universe has against you. Only thing I can say to the universe is CEASE AND DESIST AT ONCE.

  • Teuchter

    Oh FFS. Not content with having bitch-slapped poor May, the universe decided it would be fun to knock her over and kick her while she was down.
    I’m so sorry the pair of you are having to go through this – For May, because she’s more than had enough – and for you, because it’s the hardest thing in the world to see someone you love suffer like this. And, of course, there’s the loss of wee 6AA on top of everything.
    Ach.
    Sending love to you both xx

  • Twangy

    OH FFFFFS! Enough already!

    So sorry, May and H. How miserable for you. Thanks for keeping us updated – I was/am concerned.

  • Lilian

    Well done GP, but so sorry you’re going through this as well as everything else. Hope today is less fraught and that May can come home soon.

  • kilsakñksa

    If your life was a movie, it would be lambasted by critics as utterly unrealistic.

  • Peg

    My husband had a dvt with pulmonary embolisms (clots) last year, scary stuff. So sorry this is all happening. Hang in there both of you!

  • carol

    So sorry to hear all this. I’ve followed your journey for some time and meant to comment on the rotten news last week but this is the absolute pits. You’ve gone through so much and now this, it’s incredible! I hope the hospital can do something to make you feel better physically. I’ve never had children either, despite trying for ten years and in my case it’s due to health issues, too. I am so sorry, May.

  • Melissa

    Ugh this just sucks! Hang in there May and H! We’re all thinking of you!

  • newtoivf

    so so unfair, hope May is on the mend asap x

  • L.

    Ugh, May, what absolute shit. When do you get the sparkly rainbows, unicorns, winning lottery ticket, etc. to make up for all this?? I hope you are better soon.

  • a

    Thinking of you – I wish I knew what to say. This is unreal. Feel better soon, please.

  • Jen

    Oh crap! PE and DVT is scary! Get well soon May!

  • Emily Erin

    Christ almighty! So sorry that all of this is going on, and glad that it was discovered before something even worse happened. But for the love of Christmas, can’t you two catch a break? I’m sending all manner of good thoughts, prayers and imaginary chocolate (because British chocolate is so much better than what I could really send). Hoping that things start looking up and soon. (You hear me universe? I’m talking to you, and this sh*t has got to stop!)

  • Valery Valentina

    the tweets updates don’t sound reassuring.
    Am I wrong to be scared of the clots? (and superstitious if I am afraid more bad stuff happening? or did I watch too much ‘House’ ?)
    Thinking of you two.

  • Hairyfarmerfamily

    Your GP has made it onto my Christmas card list. Bakers cyst, indeed! I am hoping & expecting that the NHS are better at sorting out blood clots than miscarriages. But… again… what the ACTUAL fuck?! This is just beyond absurd and Should Not Be Happening. Put the wet copper armour the OTHER side of the field…?

  • blackbirdofpeace

    GAH! This is too much. Sending good thoughts and wishes for a speedy recovery.

  • Twangy

    (Ah! Chocolate and home are mentioned! I find this to be A Good Sign. Phew.)

  • g

    Oh my goodness May.

    I’m speechless.

    xx

    g

  • Anonymous

    Woah, so much wtf’ery going on for you two! Hope May’s feeling better after a decent sleep, take care both x.

  • heartsick

    I got a PE / Lung clot from trying to use birth control pills. Hurt like a bastard, took ages to dissolve. My sympathies.

  • Emily Erin

    For the love of Pete! These twitter updates are good, but in relation to the one asking about how much time to take off, it seems that your GP might have a good suggestion for that? At least on the nosy co-worker front, you’ve got one hell of a cover story– DVT with lung and leg clots? Yipes, they’d be stupid to poke any further into that. Praying/Hoping/Wishing that the universe will call off the all out onslaught of sh*t that seems to be attacking you. And as always sending virtual hugs, chocolate and a nice bottle of wine (whine?).

