I aten’t dead

In fact, I’m at home tucked up in bed with a hot-water-bottle and a cup of tea while my Mum makes chicken soup (from scratch. Occasionally she wanders in to ask me where the filleting knife is or do we have celery? (answers: Knife block, oddly enough, and Vegetable drawer in fridge, for some strange reason. (I’m allowed to be sarcastic, I am perforated (and I always run to nested parentheses when under the weather, have you noticed?)))).

Good news and bad news.

Good: Tube clear, ‘patent’, they call it; uterine lining healthy and uterine cavity undistorted; Satsuma a blemish-free little rock-star of an ovary.

Bad: ‘Significant’ adenomyosis; patch of endometriosis in the Pouch of Douglas; said patch un-laserable because sodding uterus is so bulky they couldn’t move it out of the way. Luckily it is well away from Sats and her nice clean tube.

I bled rather a lot, so am very pale, but feel surprisingly chirpy and not in much pain.

So. Well. Hmmph. There you go.

19 responses to “I aten’t dead

  • Womb For Improvement

    Glad you aren’t in pain and clear tubes is always good to hear. Not sure of the significance of the endometriosis, but I’m sure you’ll explain in due course. In the meantime rest up and nourish yourself with that chicken soup.

  • manapan

    So glad to hear of the good news! I’m not really sure what the bad news means but like WFI said, I know you’ll explain once you’re feeling up to it. And to be annoyingly chipper, since you’re not in much pain now, you’ll have leftover Good Drugs for dealing with period hell. Hurrah!

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Ehh. Well. The forecast for May’s uterus: likelihood of conception, continuing good to high. Chances of ongoing period pain: also continuing good to bloody high.

    I’m glad you’re no more borked than you already knew, sweetheart, in particular that the endo lining is good and that Satsuma has scared any endo well away from her neck of the ovarian woods – but that bulky ute is a total thoroughgoing pain, in every single respect.

    I am sending cake. No really, I am.

  • Korechronicles

    Glad to hear you’re home and resting and that the chicken soup is on the way. News sounds like what one would reasonably expect given Exceeding Painful Symptomolgy. I’m sorry about the adeno, it’s an utter bastard, no matter which way you look.

    Get better soonest, only wish I could send cake. Will have to think of postable alternative,

  • katyboo1

    Soup is good. Hot water bottle is good. is also good that you are home and okish. Good for good news. Hooray. This means there is hope, right? Sorry about the bad news, because this surely means pain. Gah and pooh. But also good because there was nothing unexpected or new. Get well soon sweetheart.xxx

  • Solnushka

    Oh good. Good good good little satsuma. Bad about the rest but it does explain things. I mean, not that you didn’t know but it is, observably, there. Crap that they can’t do anything though.

  • a

    Thanks for the update – glad to hear that…nothing is worse than you thought. Sorry to hear that there’s nothing they can fix for you. Feel better soon.

  • Lulu

    I’m glad you’re doing as well as you could expect to be doing, and glad your mom is there to ask you annoying questions and take care of you.

  • MFA Mama

    Well, it’s a right mixed bag, isn’t it? Personally I’m just glad to see you came through the surgery alright and are not still “in hospital” as you say over there, given your penchant for near-exsanguination. Also glad that you’ve got your mother there to fuss over you, because mothers (when they are not the antichrist, as mine is) are a useful thing to have when one is feeling low.

  • twangy

    Ah. Both good and bad, indeed. Such a pity they couldn’t treat the patch, but the rest is tick, tick, tick! Good gonad Satsuma and tube, who surely deserves a name? Enjoy your soup.

    (What do Americans say then? “In the hospital”? Hmm. But it’s “in hospital” because.. well. Because it’s like in prison. Or in love. (Only bad). Sort of a state of mind thing.)

  • Valery Valentina

    Maybe your Mum asks these little obvious questions instead of asking the same ‘how are you now’ every ten minutes? As an excuse to wander in? Given that her practical side is that much stronger than her empathic one?
    Like going over to that neighbour to borrow a cup of sugar….

    Hope this chicken soup contains enough EPO to get your colour (blood) back.

  • Bionic Baby Mama

    yes, you are certainly allowed to be a smart-ass while perforated, but i hope your perforations will seal themselves up toot sweet. sounds like satsuma has been a good watch-ovary — well done, sats. i suspect my own P o’ D of containing similar horrors (or maybe its the cul de sac, but something around there would explain the complete GI shutdown that accompanies my worst endo attacks); dr. baby factory advised against zapping too near the cervix for fear of creating scar tissue that is even worse. sort of sorry they didn’t find something obvious and zappable, but glad they didn’t find anything terrifying.

    chicken soup is lovely, but i hope you’ll get some nice steak, too.

    xo

  • Anonymous

    Its never fun to be perforated, but I’m glad you’re not feeling too worse for wear – hears hoping your recovery continues to be nothing but up. In the meantime, enjoy the hot water bottle.

    Glad Sats and Cute Ute and tube are reasonably in the clear. Sorry about the other – endo and adeno are no fun at all – but that’s not news to you.

    Enjoy the soup and the cake. . .

  • Betty M

    Liking all the good. Not liking the bad but I suppose it was no more than you suspected which is good-ish. Hope the soup is flowing and the annoying questions are tolerable and your perforations are healing.

  • Emily Erin

    Glad that you’ve successfully emerged from hospital. Sorry that your suspicions were confirmed. Hope that you are on the mend soon and that you continue to feel as well as can be expected.

  • g

    All in all, that sounds like a pretty decent result, dear May. Normal endometrium + pretty ovary + patent tube. The other bits? Also better than could have been,

    Phew!

    xx

    g

  • A kind of desolate blank « Nuts in May

    […] me the appointment for the follow-up-to-the-surgery consultation with Miss Consultant. You know, the surgery that happened in November. So tomorrow I shall have to spend my tea-break trying to get through to anyone at Miss […]

  • Acts of NHS « Nuts in May

    […] It’s been two months since I had surgery. I was looking at my scars in the shower yesterday morning. The so-called (lying liars from Lie-Land) soluble stitches never dissolved, so in the end I cut them loose with the sewing scissors and picked them out with tweezers. Don’t look at me like that. I had to. They were digging in so hard they were cutting my flesh. The one in my belly-button damn near overlays the one from the previous laparoscopy I had in 2007. The stitch-holes from that had pretty much vanished, leaving a fine white line from the main incision, so now my scars look like this:  :ll: […]

