Insides and such

Meanwhile (meanwhile meanwhile meanwhile), let us quickly recap matters internal and gynaecological chez May.

I am almost entirely sure I ovulated on Saturday evening. My fertility charting website software is not sure, and won’t mark that day as The Day. This is because I have had (am still having) the Official First Cold of the Academic Year, and Friday-through-Monday I had a nasty sore throat (is there a nice kind?) and a low-grade fever, which of course meant the usual distinctive temperature drop caused by surging estrogen and subsequent marked rise caused by the corpus luteum pumping out progesterone got completely swamped by the noble battlings of my immune system.

Anyway, I’ll bet you dollars to doughnuts I did ovulate, and have marked the relevant Friday at the end of next week with a big red cross, a skull, a dagger, a bottle marked ‘poison’, an axe, and a gigantic angry black scribble.

Given that H has a new (stress! Stress!) job, that we both had colds, and that the in-laws were coming to stay, The Fuckening was, eh, sporadic, this month. Not so sporadic as to allow me to spend the next week-and-a-half drinking espresso by the pint and eating chicken-liver-and-brie crostini for lunch, dinner and tea, mind you. Just sporadic enough for me to stomp about muttering ‘oh, what’s the bloody point?’ a lot.

And the In-Law Visitation? Was fine. Was more than fine. We had a very nice time. Which does not in any way make for good anecdotage (apart from the bit with the injured mouse that tore itself free from the trap and bolted for cover in the spare room, where the In-Laws were sleeping. We still haven’t found it. Oy gevalt).

9 responses to “Insides and such

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Ah, the ominous tread of the annual Winter Virus Season. BOO for colds, especially at the critical juncture of New Job and In Laws, when most individuals try to look their keenest and wittiest, even if the facade (buggered if I know where cedillas hide on WP comments) is a thinnish one. (We’ve had that germ, too; Harry’s had the cough, John’s had the sore throat, and I’ve had the sniffles. Very ecumenial!)

    I must get on board with this fertility charting software business. I have tried thermometer usage – albeit about 7 years ago – and didn’t get on so well; perhaps it’s time for another try. I am in awe that you can actually Predict Stuff because of it – although regular ovulation (pauses to give Sats her due commendatory pat on…. whatever it is gonads have instead of a back) does, I imagine, assist matters. It goes without saying, although I will anyway, that I would rather like you to be able to stop using it soon.

    I am now imagining a Manx Mouse in your spare room.

  • QoB

    I had a mouse run up my leg this week (inside the trousers). In fairness to it, I was trying to trap it in a box at the time. Yay for winter!

  • a

    Ooh – I hate the “what’s the bloody point?” phase. Grrr. I suppose it’s marginally better than the “you really have to travel for work NOW?” phase, though.

    Hope you’re all feeling better soon. Not sure whether I hope you find the mouse or that he escaped to the outside world to tell all his friends to stay away…

  • Nina

    Ok, are landlords in Britain not responsible for fumigation/pest control? Just curious. Maybe you and H could take a nice day off and get out of the house and let them get on with that, if so. Yuk!!! I now have goosebumps thinking of things like bubonic plague! Anyway (oh, the ‘get out of the house’ statement was meant as just that, not a ‘make a baby while you’re at it’ platitude, sorry!) I’m sorry about the cold, sore throat, and lack of marital relations. Hopefully, the sperms that made it in asked for directions…

  • twangy

    *Wakes up as if from trance*
    Back now. Phew. Life returneth to normality.

    Colds, eh? ALL nasty. Boo, indeed.

    Also, on the vermin sit-eee-ay-shin, that landlord of yours needs to do the needful. Because really, you are beleaguered by the little buggers at every turn. And it’s a bit fecking much, so it is.

    (Good on you about the campaign for better miscarriage care. Sorely needed. SO sorely.)

  • katie

    Ah, Freshers’ Flu, how welcome you are not in our house. Have had a week of moany husband. Vicks First Defence proved quite successful in my case though.

  • Betty M

    All those new term germs are grim. Hope you both recover soon. The mice on the other hand can die a horrible death.

