Stand down, Forces of Righteousness

Oh, I have a happy. I called my mother again, to make myself feel worse, no doubt, and to my inordinate joy she told me that my sister Trouble will be making herself useful in the nursing-and-tea-making capacities after all.

Hurrah! My sister is all grown-up!

So we have a schedule. As soon as Mum gets out of hospital, Trouble will look after her (I will be indisposed). As for Trouble’s other commitments, a friend will come over for one of those days. Then H and I are going down on Sunday (when I am hopefully redisposed), and then one of my many aunties will stay with her for a few days, and by then Mum should be much better and able to lift her own kettle.

And I will have to do very little indeed and certainly none of it while exsanguinating and off my face on tramadol. Yay!

I note my step-Dad is still being about as much use as a chocolate fire-guard. It’s because he was sent to boarding-school at the age of five, I’m morally certain.

Anyhow. I feel ever so much better.

*Twiddles fingers*

18 responses to “Stand down, Forces of Righteousness

  • a

    I feel better too. It was going to be a bit expensive to come over there and give your sisters a good shake.

  • Quiet Dreams

    So happy and relieved for you!

  • kylie

    Yay- somewhat sorted without resort to violence.

    My computer somehow failed to update with the previous post- so I read the happy bit before the Grrr bit.

    As far as I am concerned it is the responsibility of the adult child who lives closest to parents to be the first port of call. This is doubly true if said child lives at home or is otherwise benefiting greatly from proximity. As one who has been both the furtherest located (another continent) and now the closest to home, this is part of the unspoken family contract. There are benefits and there are costs, but that is the way it is.

    On the helpfulness of men who went to boarding scool as children- very interesting point- it does explain a lot.

  • korechronicles

    Good news indeed, but can I confess to a wee bit of disappointment at not being able to do any HULK SMASHING. I so need to.

  • valery valentina

    Dear step-Dad, please reconsider your course of action. You are never too old to learn how to make a cup of tea. People who love you will love you for trying even if you make a mess of it. Surgery is not a contagious disease. And have a word with Diva!

    Pffft.

    and hugs for you both, May & H

  • twangy

    Chocolate fireguard! Mmm. Melty. Is it nearly lunchtime?

    Good on Trouble! HURRAY.

  • bionicbrooklynite

    well done, trouble. may, perhaps you’re not a foundling after all.

  • Womb For Improvement

    Phew, you can bench some of that guilt!

  • katyboo1

    Thank goodness. Was going to offer to come over and either kneecap the sisters or carry you round on a sedan chair made of pain killers.x

  • Chickenpig

    You commented on my blog about how parenting can’t hurt as much as infertility. Yes, it can. Does it hurt as much as repeat pregnancy loss? probably not. I don’t think anything could hurt as much as RPL, but I don’t consider RPL normal infertility, but a separate hell all on its own.

    I can say that having PPD and anxiety was total and complete hell. It is bad enough if you are able to become pregnant easily, but when you have had to battle infertility for 6 years to take home your babies and all you are is in complete, total, misery…and guilty because you went through heaven and Earth to get there. Yes it hurts, it hurt worse than the worse day of infertility ever did. Watching your children be in pain and to suffer is also worse than infertility, a thousand fold, because at least when you’re suffering IF it is you OWN suffering, if that makes any sense. Again, I am talking the run-of-the-mill can’t get pregnant and one miscarriage and one chemical pregnancy kind of IF, NOT RPL.

    • May

      Ahh. Well, there you go. In your post, you were talking about what appeared to be normal, everyday stresses of normal, everyday parenting. I made the mistake of not reading your entire blog beginning to end before commenting, so didn’t realise there was a lot more to it as far as you were concerned. Severe PPD, you are quite right, would be hell and doubly and triply hell after infertility and loss. My bad.

      As for your point about watching your child suffer, that is exactly why I specifically made the point: ‘I can’t comment on the relative feelings of people parenting children with severe health problems or disabilites, of course. It would be arrogant and presumptious of me to even think of making comparisons either way – I can only imagine it’s the greatest source of love and anguish ever.’

      Also, for future reference, if you want to take something up with me that isn’t actually to do with posts on my blog, but aren’t sure I’ll check the replies to my comments on your blog posts, my email address is easily findable under the ‘This Is?’ button above.

  • katie

    In our home study our social worker checked we were planning to go for “normal” education and not home school or send our children to boarding school. I remember she looked a little worried before we assured her we weren’t going to do either of those.

  • Betty M

    Glad your sister has found some family feeling at last.

    I do have to stick up for men of a certain age who went to boarding school though. My dad has cooked, shopped and ferried about for a selection of family members over the years. it was left to my ma to do the solace bit but for practical assistance he was splendid. But then again perhaps it was the two extra years at home with the nanny that made the difference!

  • bionicbrooklynite

    meant to say that of all the things that are foreign about you english-folk, present and historical, the whole boarding-kindergarten idea is, hands down, the most unfathomable.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    *beams*
    *thinks good thoughts about Trouble*

  • Shannon

    Your family, my dearest May, makes me want to do something. Write self-help books, or, more possibly, create posters of them on a Family Tree to explain to youngsters what a model family does and doesn’t look like.

    You need to be cannonized.

