To freak or not to freak

Eh, beloved internets, I am still bleeding. Not heavily, or I totally wouldn’t be talking to you now because I’d be at the EPU with a wand-monkey in a head-lock until he/she promised to fetch a phlebotomist to check my HCG the very second she’d finished the scan.

And I’m not cramping either. Very very very vague dull not-quite-ache that comes and goes (if I felt properly crampy, again, I’d be in the EPU haranguing the staff).

But there it is. Red blood. Again. Every day it tails off and I think it has stopped, every day there it is again the next morning.

It’s day nine of this bleeding crap now. Keeping in mind when I have a period I only bleed red for five to seven days (I do sometimes spot for a few more days after that, but it’s only ever brown spotting. This is an adenomyosis thing, google tells me). Keeping in mind that I started bleeding pretty much the day after I’d’ve expected my period to start had I not been pregnant.

So. I should be worried? I should relax already? I should stop bothering you lot and go speak to a medical professional?

The next person who tells me chemical pregnancies/very early miscarriages are ‘just like a period, really’ will be beaten to a pulp with the nearest blunt object.

18 responses to “To freak or not to freak

  • BigP's Heather

    No experience or assvice but I do know bleeding that long SUCKS!! I’m thinking of you. Hope it stops soon!

  • twangy

    Still? Hrmm. This is when I wish I knew something useful instead of a load of animated film directors’ names. I would be inclined (in my ignorance) to err on the side of caution – that’s all I can say. This is a new occurrence, after all, isn’t it?

    Fingers crossed for you in any case.

  • May

    I’d go in. I bled for much longer than I was supposed to after a delivery and it turned out there were retained “products of conception” in there. Of course, I had to pass out from loss of blood and arrive at the hospital in an ambulance before we figured this out, but that’s a story for another day…

  • Bionic Baby Mama

    i’m half-tempted to say one of those things, just so you’d put me out of the misery of listening to my MIL take out her OCD on sugar and her dad….

    i am, for the umpteen millionth time, still just so fucking sorry this is all going on. i do think bleeding extra isn’t that unusual in these cussed circumstances, but i regretfully advise calling a doctor anyway. no sense waiting until christmas day to do so, when you know no one will be around.

    bah.

  • Womb For Improvement

    Absolutely no idea. And because of that I’d recommend getting checked out, and now. Otherwise you’ll be hard pushed to get to see anyone over Christmas, so at least get a proper medical opinion whilst you can.

  • katyboo1

    Umm. I did that after a supposed very early miscarriage and I ended up in surgery with an ectopic. It’s probably not what is happening to you, but I did not have the usual signs of an ectopic. I was not in agony, I was merely uncomfortable, slightly crampy, felt liked I’d been kicked about a bit. Bleeding was patchy, but persistent and went from dull to bright red, which is what finally persuaded me to go in.

    I’m sorry to have to say that, because i’m sure it won’t give you any comfort, but I would go in.

    You will never hear from me that an early miscarriage is like a heavy period. It is total bollocks, and anyone who says it isn’t should have their head squished in a vice and red hot pokers rammed up their rectum.

  • Betty M

    One of my m/c I bled red blood on and off for 2 weeks. It was grim for me but pronounced within the range of normal by various medical professionals. If you can see someone before everywhere shuts down tomorrow I would just because it will be a f’ing nightmare to get someone over Xmas (one of my other m/c was over Xmas so I know wherof I speak).

    In my opinion there is no such thing as a chem pg. You either are or you aren’t. Fuckers. Iwill join the party beating idiots to a pulp.

  • wombattwo

    Anyone who calls a miscarriage “just like a heavy period” at any stage hasn’t had one. And is an idiot.
    As for the bleeding – how much is it? I’d probably tend to err on the side of caution and get scanned. From my days of working in hospitals, Christmas Eve used to run pretty much as normal, so there hopefully should be someone at EPU tomorrow morning, but may be worth a phone call to make sure.
    Fingers crossed.

  • Amy P

    I’ll supply blunt objects.

    I’d go in tomorrow, just because things will be closed over the weekend. Travel should be better since you’re not hurting much physically.

  • Ben Warsop

    Don’t be silly. Go in. It’s what the NHS is for.

  • QoB

    adding my voice to the chorus and saying “go in”. You do not want to have a medical emergency over Christmas (again…?).
    Sorry, lovey.

  • MFA Mama

    No personal experience with this, but you being you? Since you asked? I think you need to go and have this checked out before it’s the holiday and you’re stuck in the A&E with staff who don’t know your history. Sucks, but there it is.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Oh lovey, I wish I could get my head around this and give you some sage advice, but Maison Hairy is in profound disarray and trouble, and I cannot cudgel my brain to tell you anything wise at present. But I’m sure what everyone else said is sooth. Much love to you.

  • Korechronicles

    Since it’s Christmas I’ll stand up and join the chorus singing ” Get thee to some sort of medical consultative thingy”. It’s only slightly better than wassailing assvice but I was never much good at the wassail.

    And adenomyosis? Suckage in spades.

  • a

    Well, as you know, I have some experience with this, and it is true that the bleeding will be heavier and last longer. Buuuut, based on the fact that there are holidays and service will be interrupted, you might want to go in and get checked on the chance it might become urgent. That said, I am the “wait and see” type myself (but I don’t recommend it for anyone else). I hope there’s nothing to be found. Much luck.

  • Laurel

    Since your GP, clueless though he may be, had expressed concern about this earlier… I think you should go, ASAP to avoid the holiday madness as the other posters said.

    (Can’t advise from personal experience, as my early m/c was hastened along by a medication…)

  • manapan

    After my second miscarriage, I bled red for nearly three weeks. All my doctor had to say to me was, “Make sure to take iron supplements. And if you pass out or get a fever above [38.9 C], then go to the hospital, otherwise you’re fine.” So I’d think that if you don’t want to go get checked out, you can ignore it for a while. Then again, in my tiny town the average emergency room wait time is less than 10 minutes. If you know you’d be waiting hours in misery, you might want to go in sooner. ((hugs))

  • everydaystrange

    People are saying that to you? Seriously? What pompous muppets! It’s just like a period, is it? The same way that melanoma is just like a wee too much sun? Like Catherine Cookson being an author is just like Shakespeare?

    No. A million times no.

    On my last miscarriage I bled for several weeks. It was heavy and horrid at first then tapered off but kept coming back for “Gotcha!” moments. I didn’t think it would ever end, although naturally it did. My next period after was irregular too, in case you wanted to go ahead and book a long slot in the diary under the heading “Suck”.

    Send people who are mean to you over here. You don’t need that. You need people to make kind and loving noises, who pat your hand and feed you gingerbread. I’ll help. I know HFF is in, too.

