The Internet Giveth

My life is very weird.

This is not necessarily a bad thing.

Actually, it’s a very good thing indeed. Weird is wonderful.

It’s just slightly awkward to explain to Muggles – sorry – most people.

On the internet, on a forum, many a few years ago now, I met Ben and her lovely husband, and I met Sol, and a few other people (who may or may not be reading this – hi!), and when I say met, I mean face-to-face, buying-each-other-drinks met. And they really did become real friends.

And then there was blogging. I was being driven demented by the malfunctioning innards, and hey, there were many many others in the same boat who thought it was acceptable to blog about it, so I joined in. And that way I met Ann, and Thalia, and Ms Prufrock, and Shannon, and Liz, and Bee Cee. Go-round-to-each-other’s-houses-and-eat-cake met. More real friends.

And now, I have added Robyn to the set. We first started swapping bloggy remarks in May 2008, when she was taking a great many beautiful photos of her daily life half a planet away. And she was a truly ace commentator. Supportive, funny, kind, apposite. I liked her enormously. To my everlasting delight and extreme excited squeaking, she appeared to like me back, and invited me to her birthday. Even better, her birthday celebration would be this side of the planet (after she’d done something pretty damn epic). Hurrah for Robyn! Hurrah for her noble friends who came with her!

It always amazes me that these people, who come across as so very totally damn lovely on their blogs and in their emails, really really are that damn lovely. The general tenor of the populace seems to believe that Persons On The Internet Are Not What They Seem. And yet I have found that they are exactly what they seem. Only better. With added generosity. And kindness. And it makes me feel so happy. As Small Faces said, But why the tears then? I’ll tell you why. It’s all too beautiful.

It’s all too beautiful.

13 responses to “The Internet Giveth

  • a

    How nice! My husband (who is paranoid about privacy) would have a cow if I tried to meet anyone from the internet in person. Someday, it will happen. I look forward to the resulting steaks…

  • Illanare

    Significant Other is the same as a’s husband, would have a fit if he knew I was blogging much less if I were to meet someone in person from the interwebs.

    Which is a little weird as he and I met online.

    Anyway – lovely post.

  • Amy P

    Someday I’ll cross this continent and get over on your side of the ocean. We may be racing zimmer frames or something by then, at the rate things are going, though…

  • Jo

    I am totally jealous that you’ve gotten to meet so many great bloggers in real-life. There are many I’ve met online that I’d love to hang out with. So glad that they are able to be there for you and give out something besides a virtual hug.

    Jo

  • QoB

    This comes at a good time, given I’m about to meet my first Person From the Internet in about 90 minutes. Thank you.

  • Betty M

    Ahh.
    The only Internet beings I have met in the real world I have met in large noisy places where escape is easy. I am a coward if I am honest. This is why we need a London Blogher given the mommyblogging conference which got a plug on Woman’s hour sounded ghastly.

  • womb for improvement

    Yes indeed.

    And as if to prove the point. I met the lovely Twangy tonight. Thankfully she was wearing her woman’s body (which will mean nothing to those folk who haven’t seen her latest post).

  • Bonanza, random « Nuts in May

    […] Item – And on that wee holiday, we met Robyn, which was THIS wonderful. […]

  • Mary

    Hello!
    Just thought I should introduce myself. I know the lovely Ben and her lovely husband too, and it was in fact the lovely Ben (Should she change her name to “The Lovely Ben”? I think so…) who sent me to your blog, after having too many bad sad times myself recently.
    I just wanted to say thanks, really. For writing this. It makes me feel less alone in dealing with all this cr*p. And a bit less of a lunatic sometimes.
    Mary x

    • May

      Hello! How nice of you to drop by and leave comments. Yes, let’s drag The Lovely Ben to the deed-poll office and make it official!

      So sorry you’re in the Bad Sad Club too. It’s a horrible club. Wouldn’t wish it on worst enemy etc. The fact that people like your good self are in it is heart-breaking. Best wishes.

  • korechronicles

    Well, it has proved rather weird to explain it all to Life Partner about people on the internet. But it is worth the laboured explanations to find that the people who write stuff that make you laugh, or cry or make you struggle to find words to comment are EXACTLY your kind of people. Just as you knew, on some subconcious level, they were. Age differences and circumstances be damned.

    It was a privilege and a pleasure to have you both at my birthday celebrations. Thank you so much for coming. And the socks are making themselves appreciated as my default slippers in the freezing summer that is Ireland.

  • Z

    I have found that meeting people on the internet has been nothing but a succession of lovely people who I am delighted to be friends with.

