Resistance is futile

I cracked. I peed on a stick.

Negative.

Waste of a Goddamn gold-and-seed-pearl-encrusted expensive peestick.

Meanwhile, just so we all know exactly what a dill-weed thing to do that was, I’m not 100% sure when I ovulated. I think it was the evening of Wednesday 31st, based on Satsuma pitching a fit, and my fertility chart thinks it was Thursday 1st, due to temperature and *cough* other signs. And H and I had last had sex on Monday, since when H has been knocked flat by the Real Flu (which, incidentally, is still kicking his arse, poor bloody H). So, really, unless H has managed to produce a handful of SAS endurance sperm-squaddies that Monday, peeing on sticks is an exercise in futility.

Period is due either Tuesday (by Satsuma-fit timing) or Wednesday (by chart), and, frankly, dpo 11 or only 10 is a stupidly early time to pee even on an expensive pee-stick.

But H might have produced a mighty squaddie. I might have ovulated Wednesday.

And this Universe might be a smiling and benevolent one.

And I am still a raging dill-weed.

11 responses to “Resistance is futile

  • QoB

    Ah bugger. The least a negative peestick could do is give you permission to have a big ol’ glass of wine.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    SO not a dill-weed.
    Tesco peesticks, dear. Tesco. You can pee with relative cheapness, and they can virtually see the future.
    I firmly believe in the power of H’s squaddies in general, even if they are not necessarily victorious on this occasion. Those are surely 40lb-rifle and 100-lb backpack little endurance dudes. *wonders if she has been vaguely inappropriate*

    And a glass of wine wouldn’t hurt one little bit.

  • manapan

    You’re not a dill-weed. You’re just full of hope.

    Let’s see, it’s midnight here, and you’re 5? 6? hours ahead of me — it’s morning wine time, then. That ought at least make work less of a struggle. 🙂

  • Betty M

    Evil pee sticks. Even so you aren’t a dill-weed. If they are in the house you feel duty bound to use the damn things.

  • twangy

    I vote for smiling and benevolent. Yes. Nodding, nodding, nodding.

    Poor H. Still under the weather? Get well soon, H!
    (Always seems a strange expression – as if it might not have occurred to him that getting well might be an idea…)

  • Secret D

    Still, stranger things have happened, it could still prove positive.

    If not, get that large glass of wine, in fact, get yourself a bottle girl.

  • a

    One of the more frustrating parts of this whole affair – the testing, and the convincing yourself that the thing is wrong. You’re not the only dill-weed out there…

  • womb for improvement

    Arghhh! You know they say knowledge is power, sometimes ignorance is bliss.

  • Korechronicles

    Not a dill-weed. NONONONONONO! *Shakes head emphatically*

    Hopeful for you and sending H the best get over the Real Flu vibes I can muster. Since I’m only just over it myself, those vibes? They may be a little on the weak side. But with an extra helping of well-meaning-ness.

    But…still standing here with my fingers crossed and my toe tapping impatiently.

  • valeryvalentina

    It’s Tuesday. I’m having a period, but I don’t think it’s yours, being very tame and letting me sleep peacefully all day.

    Sending flu-eff-off vibes for H, it’s the season for hayfever, not real fever.
    *

