No, really, I am beautiful. So are you.

Dear God this is embarrassing. Weeks ago, both Secret D and Heather nominated me for the Beautiful Blogger Award. Weeks ago. And I was all, wow, you guys! I am so flattered! And touched! And, about, say, fifteen years old? In gushing terms?

And then I tucked the Award lovingly into my back pocket and sat on it for, like I said, weeks. And every few days I’d take it out and pat it lovingly and think, I’ll do that later. When I’m in a better mood.

At this rate, I’ll be in a better mood approximately seventeen minutes before Hell Freezes Over.

So I shall do it now.

Rules:
* Thank the person who nominated you for this award.
* Copy the award and place it in your blog.
* Link the person who nominated you for this award.
* Tell us 7 interesting things about you.
* Nominate 7 bloggers.
* Post the links to the 7 bloggers you nominate.

I’ve done the first three. Now, 7 interesting things about me. Hmm. I’ve done similar listy-memes before, here, and here, and here, ooh, and here, and I’ve just found another one, and here, and I’m sure this is the last. No, wait, it isn’t. Crikey, but I do love to yap a lot. 7 more interesting things about me? I think I may have to scrape the bottom of the barrel a little. I can do that. Tell you what, I can get H to do that. H? H! Seven interesting things about me, please.

  1. My Myers-Briggs personality type is INFJ. We make up about 1% of the population, the rarest of all 16 types. H likes this fact. He always knew I was Not Like Other Girls and this proves it. He also knows, in case of any dispute, it’s Me and Not Him. Even when I’m completely, totally right about whateveritis, it’ll be something most people aren’t usually right about.
  2. I am a geek. I actually like cataloguing and classifying. I amuse myself by classifying random books in Oxfam shops, just to see if I can.
  3. My taste in music is, apparently, unusually broad, in that I like everything from Handel to Manu Chao, from Cornershop back to Hildegard of Bingen.
  4. I have read every single word that J.R.R Tolkien ever published, including all the academic essays and literary criticism (what? He was an Oxford Don, you know) and am working up to being able to say the same for C.S. Lewis.
  5. I am an atheist. A diamond-hard, to-the-core, none-of-your-agnostic-shilly-shallying, atheist. I still have my Baptismal candle, and I will cross myself and light candles to the saints when I am in a Catholic church. Richard Dawkins would despair of me.
  6. I grew up on a farm in Italy. It seemed a perfectly reasonable thing to do at the time, but H, bless him, finds it interesting.
  7. H also finds it interesting that I own, love, and can quote extensively from, a great many books by John Donne, Shakespeare, Austen, Tolkien, Pratchett, Le Guin, Dorothy L. Sayers, Primo Levi, Neil Gaiman, Dickens, Trollopes Anthony and Fanny but NOT Joanna, Stephen Jay Gould, Diana Wynne Jones, C.S. Lewis, Lord Dunsany, Milton, Murasaki Shikibu, Margaret Atwood, Wordsworth, Marlowe, J.K. Rowling (I feel a teeny bit ashamed of that one), Coleridge, Iain M. Banks, Douglas Adams, Stephen Fry (can you tell?), Asimov, Bill Bryson, George Eliot, A.S. Byatt, … OK, H is getting a bit impatient of this now. We’ll stop there. You get the point.

OK. Seven beautiful bloggers to hand this out to. Well. *Thinks*. I know far far too many beautiful bloggers. How do you do this without feeling you’re leaving people out?

Aigh.

OK. Let’s go with this lot.

  1. Twangy Pearl, because she is so very sweet and very funny, and her drawings really are really beautiful. And cute. And witty. Check out her cabbage.
  2. Hairy Farmer Family‘ fabulous Wifey. Because I adore her.
  3. Meganlisbeth, because she has been a staunch supporter of all things May since 2007, and I am so grateful.
  4. Valery, who hasn’t been blogging long, but is charmingly whimsical, and (don’t we all?) deserves a hug.
  5. Xbox. Who can be a handsome blogger, if he prefers. His posts on the birth of his long-awaited daughter made me cry happy tears (happily! It was lovely!) Because that really was beautiful.
  6. MFA Mama. Who makes me laugh myself hysterical, bless her, and who is brave as a lioness.
  7. Korechronicles, because I miss her beautiful, beautiful photos.

And I would have nominated Womb for Improvement as well, but someone beat me to it. So I shan’t bother.

There. And as for those of you I haven’t nominated, well, you deserve a nomination anyway. Several nominations. Many, many nominations. Big shiny nominations with stars and flowers and Cupids on.

24 responses to “No, really, I am beautiful. So are you.

  • Martin

    Yay. I think I’d be more of a ‘cute in the right light blogger’, but I’ll take what I can get.

    And thanks, for everything.

  • MFA Mama

    Ah hell, woman, you made me go all emo. Dammit.

  • QoB

    You inspired me to go do an online Myers-Briggs test, and I am apparently also INFJ. Do we have a secret handshake?

    Also now must look up all the authors you mentioned that I haven’t read, because I’ve read most of the rest (Wynne Jones! love her). Have you read any Madeleine L’Engle or Haruki Murakami?

    • May

      The secret handshake goes like *this*…

      Yes. And yes. Both. Actually, can quote bits of a Wrinkle In Time. Must work harder on Murakami.

      • QoB

        aha!:)
        I recently bought a 5-book set of L’Engle’s stuff and now I have to buy more, because some parts of the story are obviously missing. Like, what happened to Charles Wallace (I know it’s probably on Wikipedia but I don’t want to look…).

  • womb for improvement

    That is the perfect nomination because it makes me feel warm and fluffy without actually having to do anything like think of 7 things about myself.

    Thanks. xx

  • womb for improvement

    Oh and I am almost but not quite the diametric opposite with ESFP (we both have those bloody feelings to contend with!). Your books, do you also love those authors you can’t quote from – or can you neither quote from them nor do you love them?

  • twangy

    Oh My Goodness! Thank you. THANK YOU. That is very kind. I am morto, as we say in Dublin.

    (And May, guess what? I am INFJ too. I knew you’re were a kindred spirit! But in the same 1%, is really really kindred).

  • mrs spock

    I also enjoy Hildegard Von Bingen (was just listening to Anonymous 4’s “10000 Virgins”), and am agnostic. And don’t find anything weird about that. I was in my very Catholic friend’s wedding Mass. I was surprised I didn’t burst into flames. I’m pretty sure Richard Dawkins would.

  • Molly

    Hurray, lovely blogger! A farm in Italy sounds divine. I’m loving your reading list. After my own MFA-heart.

  • Secret D

    Ok, as a fellow librarian I cannot believe that you actually like classifying and cataloguing books! Still, I suppose somebody has to enjoy doing it!!

  • thalia

    Why have we not discussed Diana Wynne Jones before? My first blog was a Diana Wynne Jones worship page. I love and adore her. I met her in Oxford once, and she was just as wonderful as I needed her to be. Thank heavens.

    • QoB

      is your first blog still around, by any chance?
      so jealous that you got to meet her!

    • May

      Have we not discussed DWJ? ARGH. Must discuss her forthwith. For instance I finally laid hot little hands on a copy of The Dark Lord of Derkholme last week, and I is happy, as I’ve reread Year of the Griffin three times in a ‘what the buggery happened BEFORE?’ and now all is well.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Ooooo! Thank you!

    My brain is full of Snot and Tired and I can’t cope with googling where to find a Myers Briggs test. Show me, someone kind?

  • Pamela

    Hey – I’m in INFJ (!!)

    Makes even more sense that I find you so interesting … wait, that sounded a bit too narcissistic…but you know what I mean. oxoxox

  • Valery

    *crawls under blancket*

  • Korechronicles

    I have been away on the far side of this country, representing my new, really grown up job and meeting the peeps in the office that faces the Indian as opposed to the Pacific. There was also some sad abiding with an ailing friend that needed doing so I have been off the internet radar for what seems like forever but is, in reality, a couple of weeks.

    And now I am feeling doubly guilty, because someone else, whose opinions I deeply value as a woman of unmistakeable class and exceedingly rare Myers-Briggery, misses my photos as much as I do.

    And I’m not so rare -ENFP. Clearly we have been attracted to each other by the NFs we have in common. And the voluminous reading list.

    Shall unpack the camera and return to active duty. Fully shamed into it.

