Type? Cast.

Blimey, it’s Friday already. In that case, we had better talk about Wednesday. Remember, I unleashed H and the Power of Testosterone Voice on the NHS a couple of weeks ago, and he came galumphing triumphantly back having swapped the not-until-effing-May (why yes, May was effing and blinding) gynaecology appointment for a brand new this-month appointment.

And I wangled most of the day off work.

On Wednesday morning, then, I went to visit the GP, to see if I could get hold of the recurrent miscarriage panel blood test results (oy vey the saga) before having to deal with Miss Consultant about them. I wanted to be braced and prepared because Miss Consultant is so very efficient and brisk and teflon-coated I get the yips in her presence. Doc Tashless was not available, but I did get to speak to the sweetie GP I saw in October, when I thought I might be miscarrying that time. And I got to feel almost cruel, because the way Doc Sweetie’s face fell, and went right on falling, when he realised I a) wasn’t pregnant with the October baby, b) had lost another one since as well, and c) was being seriously investigated by Mothership Hospital, was like kicking a puppy from here to John O’Groats. At which point he was prepared to somersault backwards through burning hoops for me.

And this was just as well, because my test results were not forthcoming, and he nobly tried two computers, three log-ins, and one animated discussion with the secretarial staff before realising that this GP’s surgery did not have access to Mothership’s computer system, and had never had access to Mothership’s computer system, and the Mothership nurse had misinformed me (GAH!). And that Mothership, despite having sent over the results of every single HCG beta I’ve had in the past few months, had not sent the RM panel results. And they should have. And we sat and looked at each other blankly for a few moments.

Anyway, we vigorously agreed that the RMC clinic was not behaving very well, even if the staff at the EPU were lovely (but confused).

On which note, I asked about NHS referrals to Lesley Regan’s RM clinic. He looked that up on the GP intranet, and said, eventually, thoughtfully, that the waiting list appeared to be six-to-eight months long, as we weren’t in the catchment area for that hospital. But he’d start the paperwork, if I liked. I did like, but am also going to make H call them and ask about going private (I have savings. I have a wealthy and anxious-to-be-useful mother). We can always wait or rush forward depending on what Mothership pulls out of the bag.

In the afternoon, H and I went down to the Hospital Out In The Country, where Mothership sends her Assisted Conception patients for monitoring and clinic visits (confused? Aren’t we all). We sat in the waiting room (hot, crowded, shared with the ear-nose-and-throat clinic, full of stone-deaf elderly ladies and flustered parents with toddlers) for over an hour. Apparently, the nurse had put the patient’s folders not in the order the appointments were booked, but in alphabetical order. So we were being called through in alphabetical order. I live about the middle of the alphabet. Pity the poor couple at the back end of the alphabet who were made to wait for nearly two hours. Also, smack the nurse for being an eejit.

Miss Consultant was in good form, however. And not in the least teflony. I felt as if H and I had passed some kind of special ‘fine, we can take you seriously now’ threshold. Apart from the moment when she smiled brightly at the pair of us and said ‘it’s excellent that you are getting pregnant!’ and I felt H flinch beside me. That made us both a little stabby.

Anyway, she did have my blood tests.

And, and, no clotting issues.

No clotting issues! Factor V Leiden, Lupus anticoagulant, Anticardiolipin, Prothrombin Clotting time, Partial Thromboplastin Time, all came back absolutely negative for clotting issues.

She then asked if my LH/FSH/estradiol had been taken at the right time of my cycle, and I said no, as it had been the week after ovulation, which even I now know is totally not the right time of the cycle. (Senior Doctor didn’t even ask what cycle day it was before ordering those, you know. Coupled with the Thyroid-Doesn’t-Cause-Miscarriages FAIL, this makes me think Senior Doctor may be a charming person but a dick-wad as a doctor). So Miss Consultant flicked briskly past those.

The eighth test had been a full blood count after all (I could see the screen) but Miss Consultant didn’t mention it, so I assume it was boring.

Right. Next steps. Miss Consultant decided that H and I needed karyotyping. Chromosonal issues are very rare, she pointed out, but then, so are three or four miscarriages in a row, and as we’re waiting for IVF, it’d be better to find this out as soon as possible. Today, even! (I reeled, mildly gob-smacked).

I then took a deep breath, and said, firmly as I could, ‘thyroid’. I pointed out my mother had thyroid problems. I pointed out that her thyroxine levels had been near-normal but her TSH (I think? Probably) had been completely out of whack and it had taken a while before her doctor had thought to check it and this while my mother was growing an actual goitre. Miss Consultant agreed thyroid issues could be hereditary. I stated that I had quite a few symptoms of burgered thyroid, see, for example, the painful heavy periods and crocodile hide. Oh, she said, have I noticed any hair thinning? Why yes, look, here is the thin patch on my temple. She promptly added a full thyroid panel to the list of follow-up tests.

And she may as well double-check my Anticardiolipin, as it’s usual to do that one twice.

H remembered my possible fibroid (seen on the where-the-hell-is-Zombryo ultrasounds) and valiantly spoke up. We discussed it briefly, though Miss Consultant thinks it won’t be a problem (what? Even if it’s submucous?) and she didn’t seem overly concerned, (so perhaps it isn’t). And yet she then casually mentioned that one of my many ultrasounds had shown three (THREE) small fibroids. Really? Seriously? What the fuck? Meanwhile H was struggling to remember the term ‘adenomyosis’ and I was too busy ghasting my flabber in confused silence (three fibroids? Seriously?) to be of any use at all at this point. (Three? But, the last ultrasound showed possibly one ‘area of vascularity’, and why is this all maybe-possibly-whatever let’s-not-bother-telling-May? Have I ever mentioned my periods are a bloody hell? Have I? Ever? So, you know, a diagnosis might be interesting to me? Why don’t I say this out loud?)

Miss Consultant understood something of the ghasting, as she signed me up for yet another ultrasound, ‘to make sure’. Only, not for another few months (oh), because pregnancy hormones can make fibroids grow a great deal, and we’d get a more accurate picture when they’ve had a chance to return to their cruising weight.

(Speaking of which, Miss Consultant is quite sure I started ovulating again because I lost weight, encouraging smile, encouraging smile. Indeed. I pointed out I have put some back on again. I knew she was going to have me weighed and I wanted to get in there first).

And we are to go back for a follow-up appointment when the karyotype results come back. This won’t be for three months at the earliest, for which she apologised, so we are seeing her again in June. Until June, we can hurl aside the condoms after all (and H had gone and bought lots, bless him) and see if we can get knocked up the standard way again.

Oh. OK. Good. I think.

And then H and I went off to the phlebotomy clinic with our blood test request forms, and ended up sitting facing each other across the room getting needled at the same time. H was very cheerful and brave about it, and deserves a lollipop, because the feeling of a needle in his vein (not the pain, just… the sensation of it) squicks him out. I was all gung-ho bring-it-on, swapping jokes with the phlebotomist (‘I always take an extra vial so I can have a snack later’), because I am a dusty-booted veteran of this kind of crap now and anyway, I used to donate blood for tea and biscuits. Am not bothered by needles. H gave two vials, for two sorts of karyotyping, and I gave six, for karyotyping plus thyroid panel plus anticardiolipin (I win!).

And as we were wending our way back from The Hospital Out In The Country, H suddenly said, but what about the FSH? Ah. Argh and ah. We’d agreed the FSH/LH/estradiol tests Senior Doctor had ordered were pointless, and that is as far as we’d got. I felt deeply half-witted indeed. Surely, I need a day 3 FSH/LH/estradiol test? I decided then and there I could get Doc Tashless to do those for me, though. He could write the request form and I could simply go to the GP phlebotomy service on the right day. It’d be fine. I could get it done with minimum fuss.

But still, AAAARGH. My gynaecology/ACU/RMC trifecta of dropped balls is still complete (dropped balls! Teeheehee).

We shall be sent the thyoid results in a few weeks, allegedly. I hope so, and I have my doubts. And I have H on stand-by for phone-call-making purposes.

So. Well. So. Hmmm.

24 responses to “Type? Cast.

  • Jem

    Many steps in the right direction. Congrats on NOT having clotting issues.

  • womb for improvement

    So much to take it. But your new consultant sounds like one of the good ones, who listens, which can’t be bad.

  • manapan

    Yay for no clotting issues!

    I have thyroid problems too, so I have tons of assvice on the subject. Feel free to ignore me, but I will say that selenium could be your new friend. My symptoms all come back and my T4 and TSH levels get out of whack unless I take at least 200 mcg of selenium a day with my levothyroxine. The same is true for my grandma, two of my aunts, and several of my cousins.

  • Heather

    Glad there are no clotting issues but I know you would love some answers.

    Why the FUCK wouldn’t they tell you that you had fibroids??? Even if they aren’t an “issue” – it is your body and you should know those sorts of things!! That just doesn’t make sense to me…

  • Korechronicles

    Hope even more answers will be forthcoming in the days ahead. And that they will all be good answers. Because May has had more than anyone’s fair share of bad.

    Dropped balls? My dad always told me never to take my eyes off them.

  • Katie

    It all sounds so confusing dealing with so many multiple hospitals. Thanks for keeping us updated anyway… good to know… if not necessarily good to find out if you see what I mean.

  • Valery

    So much information… good luck with keeping track! (and getting all the help you need to let it make sense)

  • twangy

    No clotting issues! Excellent news.
    So thyroid next suspect? Fingers firmly crossed for good news.

    You’d really need an advocate to guide you through the circles of the NHS wouldn’t you? Like a cross between Virgil, David Attenborough and Lassie, that might do it.

  • a

    No clotting issues is good news. Dropped balls are actually good in this context – when they don’t drop, you can have problems. 🙂

    I hope you have a good filing system for all the information that you’re amassing. I hope it comes together into some sort of useful diagnosis that can be addressed.

    Maybe you could sell your condom collection and recoup some of your money?

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    NO clotting issues? REALLY?! My word! I was so certain! So. Thyroid it is, then!

    If it IS possible to thoroughly distrust someone via the medium of a second-hand conversation, then I distrust Mothership Nurse. I feel she Evaded and was Naughty.

    Short-circuiting the waiting list for Lesley Regan’s clinic sounds like a good thing to throw money at.

    Lastly, is burgered thyroid a typo, or can we all call it that in future?!

  • Solnushka

    I knew that nuse was talking nonsense. I am quite cross with her for freaking you out for no reason.

    Still, there sems to be actual ways forward for you now, so that’s good. Go H and his Testosterone Voice of Power on the telephone. Glad you didn’t have to wait for May for that.

    Incidently? http://www.tasgreetings.com/condom.htm

  • betty m

    Yey to no clottting. I expect a prelim consult with prof Regan will be a couple of hundred so money well spent when you stick it next to an Ivf bill. Thyroid is interesting and definitely needs sorting if burgered regardless so hopefully those tests are useful.

  • Ben Warsop

    Gosh. How extremely technical it all is. It is good to see that progress is being made.

    *hugs to both*

  • Cute Ute the Martyr « Nuts in May

    […] under: Bad sad things, I visit the Doctors, The innards — May @ 12:16 am About a month ago Miss Consultant sent me off to book an ultrasound so we could, for once and for all, see what the aitch-ee-double-hockey-sticks Cute Ute was up to in […]

  • I am a rational woman « Nuts in May

    […] dozen GPs, and I can’t always get to see Doc Tashless (or even the gorgeous Doc Sweetie who I reduced very nearly to tears back in January with my Tales of Woe). Instead I got a GP I’d never seen before in my life, and when I announced that I was there […]

  • honda civic jdm

    Nvidia’s VCM currently sees use in models from Audi, Lamborghini, and BMW. The Civic gets an average of about $3 million a year ago due to an increase in sales volume of knockdown kits from Japan and erodes repatriated profits Japan’s
    third-largest auto. The first thing to remember, is that the improvement in sales and market
    share, its Japanese rival Honda Westchester looks to
    increase it further going forward, he added.

  • So what the futility happened? | Nuts in May

    […] pulmonary embolism problem, Dr George agreed that whatever my test results up until now showed (i.e. absolutely bloody nothing that could predispose one to thrombophilia) (apart from a tendency to sodding well clot anyway, so bloody there), I clearly had a severe, […]

