Smell of burning

I am cold. It is cold. But I am cold, in that my temperature was down (aaaaaaaagh) this morning. Positive Thinking Fairy is pointing out that I had a temperature dip about this time on the One and Only Pregnancy Cycle, hurrah hurrah. Bitter McTwisted, who is, I think, a sensible woman, points out day 10 is about time my temperature starts slowly tumbling back towards normal, to meet the rising Crimson Tide.

*sigh*

I had an anxiety attack at work, you know. I made a teeny weeny simple mistake, realised I’d made it within five minutes, corrected it (which took, ooh, 0.2 of a second), and carried on with no one else in any way affected or in the least aware of it. And then spent my entire tea-break talking myself down of the Ledge of I-Am-A-Cretin-And-Don’t-Deserve-To-Be-Employed. For a mistake the like of which I make at least once a week and usually correct but no-one cares if I don’t. For a mistake over which I normally don’t so much as waste the bat of an eyelid. Yes. Indeed. That’s what I thought.

(I wish being anxious didn’t make me feel so… contaminated. Ahh, me and my hang-ups).

Anyway, I am frazzled to buggery (less fun than it sounds) over work, writing course, almost certain lack of indwellers, uncertainty regarding almost certain lack of indwellers, course (did I mention course?), and suddenly highly active and entertaining social life (I have a social life? How the hell did that happen?) giving me very little time to work on writing course, aaaagh first assignment due in next week aaaaagh, oh, and the bathroom needs cleaning.

The smell? Is my brain melting. Disgusting, isn’t it?

4 responses to “Smell of burning

  • meganlisbeth

    hugging you tight, miss may.
    xo

  • twangy

    Anxiety – yuck, horrible, isn’t it?
    That panic over the minor mistake resonates loudly over here. I can completely lose my sense of proportion like that. Too much adrenaline just makes me BARMY.
    But not to worry, it’s temporary, soon you’ll be insouciantly making mistakes again, just like last week.

    (Not that.. ah, you know what I mean).

  • Womb For Improvement

    You know the bathroom needs cleaning only because you have an assignment due. And once that is done you’ll HAVE to do the ironing…

  • Solnushka

    The way to surf panic attacks at work is to remember that if the worst came to the worst then what would happen is that you’d no longer have to work there. This always cheers me up.

    I doubt you’d be that lucky though. I suspect they know how good you are.

    for the stress. Here. Tea.

