I sulked, I ate salad, I sulked again

You-all know by now I am NOT COOL about talking about my weight. Not cool at all. I find the whole subject painfully embarrassing and irritating, and nothing will piss me quite so off as being given dieting advice.

Nevertheless, I was sent off to lose weight before the IVF clinic would let me come near them and their stabby stabby needles.

Aigh.

Anyway, I sulked a bit (a lot. A lot a lot a lot) and even put on a few pounds. (Yeah, I know. That’s sulking for you). And then I got a grip, and went back to the old ‘eat less and exercise’.

In the past three weeks I have lost 5 lbs.

I don’t know whether to be pleased with myself (this would be the simple, user-friendly option); disgusted that ‘eat less and exercise’ actually works when you, you know, actually do it (the default pissed-off infertile fatty option); or depressed that neither H nor I can see where, exactly, the 5 lbs have come off from (the other default infertile fatty option that is not helping with the pissed-offness).

Oh, all right, I am doing two of my bras up one notch tighter. But I am bloated (provera and constipation, sitting in a tree, kay eye ess ess eye en gee) and, damn it, my waistbands are as tight as ever. And I don’t look thinner. Not a bit. Not that I am vain or anything (Anything, thy name is Woman! May specifically!). It’s just, 5 lbs, you know. It ought to show. It would be ethical of it to show, instead of sneaking off into the night and no-one knowing noticing it’s missing until a post-card from Bermuda turns up seven months later.

There’s no pleasing some people, is there?

9 responses to “I sulked, I ate salad, I sulked again

  • Heather

    It is completely unfair that it is so hard to lose weight and then the first places I lose it: my feet, my hands, then my breasts. That just super sucks – why can’t I lose it first off my thighs or gigantic round middle?!?!?

    But, YAY!! Five pounds is five pounds – YOU ROCK!! Keep on keepin’ on, Girl. You are an inspiration.

  • a

    Apparently, the only place I ever lose weight is from my fingers. When my rings cease cutting off my circulation, I know I’ve been eating and/or exercising properly.

    Added note: I have come to hate salad.

    Good luck on the healthy living plan! Diets suck, but healthy living isn’t so bad.

  • Rachel

    Yay for 5 pounds! I’m definitely still in denial that exercise and eating well could work, and until I come out of denial (and have a really good reason to care) I plan to continue my chocolate for breakfast and ice cream after dinner for at least a few more weeks.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    All I will say here, in case I rob myself of my own blogging material, is that I always add on 4lbs for the extra uterus!
    A xxx

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Umm. As in, add on to the weight I HAVE LOST. Which actually isn’t any. But 4lbs of it isn’t actually ME. If you see what I mean. Not RIGHTFULLY.

  • Jane G

    Good for you! It’ll probably start to show a week in arrears. Or something.

  • thalia

    5lb is a lot in 3 weeks, well done!
    I found when I lost weight a while back (about 35 lbs), it took 10 lbs before ppl really noticed. Hang in there.

  • Betty M

    5lb sounds dandy. Definitely be pleased with yourself.

