I could do with a new pencil case

It’s Rosh Hashanah.

It’s the start of term.

When I was a little girl, I almost always got new exercise books, new pens, and once or twice a new pencil-case or satchel or even a compass and scientific calculator at this point. This is not, as far as I know, a Jewish custom, but it is a useful one.

*sigh*

H and I do usually feed each other slices of apple dipped in honey at this point. This is a Jewish custom. We are all out of apples this year. We used fingers. It got a little indecorous. Hee hee.

*sigh*

I still want a nice new exercise book.

*sigh*

Is all this sighing getting on your nerves? It’s getting on mine.

There was a program about fertility, among other things, on the telly this evening. And declining fertility as you age, and couples who have spent £60000 on fifteen unsuccessful IVF cycles, and a woman who got pregnant just before her first IVF and then miscarried and she and the presenter and H and I all cried together. And then the poor presenter found out her own fertility was on the skids. Argh.

New Year. New beginnings. Fresh starts. Hurry up and wait.

10 responses to “I could do with a new pencil case

