Oh, look, there on the horizon. Normality.

My plan was, go into work this afternoon, sort out the inevitable mess in my in-tray and email, hand over my ‘oops, sorry, I’ve not been here’ paper-work, sort out my reeeelly quite enormous library fines (a librarian! With library fines! Again!), check in with my tutor, collect my case-study notes, come home, and lie down. And then I could go into work properly on Tuesday and, you know, work.

No one at work has got back to me about this. Grrrrrrrrr. Shall I go in anyway and startle them?

I have a bunch of emails from assorted friends who Do Not Know, one or two of whom are even Long Lost, all wanting to know hey, wassup? Also, do I want to go to the pub? Also, what’s with the radio silence? I really ought to answer these emails. Doing this will suck, whether I go for the sunshine-and-flowers of euphemistic under-carpet-brushery, or for the ‘it sucked this much’, or for the brusque two sentences of necessity. It depends which friend I want knowing what about my emotional state in what context given assumed venue and alcoholic nature of next encounter. It’s like playing chess.

We decided not to go and stay with H’s parents last weekend. We both felt like boiled underpants, and whereas I was perfectly prepared to use my boiled-underpant-status to get out of doing or answering anything at all I couldn’t be arsed with, H is rather less cantankerous by nature, and didn’t think he could bear much social interaction and gentle enquiry. He certainly couldn’t bear watching me leap up and run out of the room at half-hourly intervals and then have anyone turn to him and say ‘Is May alright?’ as the only truthful answer would be ‘No she sodding is not and neither am I.’

So we stayed at home, and E came over for pizza and movies (Beowulf) and we all talked involved nonsense about the best available translation of Beowulf and whether they had the Anglo-Saxon available and which was morally preferable in a translation, verse or prose? That was very nice. I fear I may buy another book.

12 responses to “Oh, look, there on the horizon. Normality.

  • Sam

    Ha ha – I didn’t know that there was another librarian that ran up huge fines!!! We can be sisters-in-arms!

  • geohde

    Ah, May. It sounds like staying home was a good choice. After my first pregnancy went pear I found that I didn’t really want company (other than my hubby), no matter how sympathetic.

    But how/why is it that friends from aeons ago always seem to pop up at times like these? Happened to me, too!

    J

  • korechronicles

    I think the massive fines things goes with being a librarian. I do it too and so do a couple of my ex-colleagues. Not sure why though – learned behaviour or in our DNA?

    Turn up and frighten the pants off them. How rude of them to ignore you like that.

  • Heather

    I think you made a wise choice.

    As for the work thing, if they haven’t gotten back to you, go if you feel like it – if you need to get out. Don’t go if you don’t want to or don’t feel up to it.

  • Aphra Behn

    It depends on the poet. On both poets. With epic poetry the sinew comes through into the prose. For example, you can tell that H. Rieu’s Oddessey is a poem even though it is suposedly prose.

    I don’t think it works for lyric poetry and it certainly doesn’t work for those little gem-like butterflies of perfection which win accolades and which I simply don’t understand.

    Interesting question though, like the question whether one should repair or restore spitfires, bugattis and Goyas.

    Good luck with the workplace.

    *hugs*

  • Heather

    Sorry you’re having such a rough time. 😦

    Hey, if it makes you feel better, go to work and scare everyone, then you can come home and laugh about it later … maybe.

    I do hope tomorrow is better for you.

    (Hi! from NaComLeavMo)

  • Ann Z

    Add me as another librarian who runs up huge fines. I racked up the most when I was in library school – I kept hoping it would mean I was more likely to be hired, since I’d subsidized a large part of a librarian’s salary, but that doesn’t sound as good as I think it should in a cover letter for employment.

    I hope you stayed home and feel a bit better.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Boiled underpants, huh? Oh dear. That’s pretty bad. Do hope this week improves in a M&S-type fashion for you both.

    The emails are, admittedly, composition toughies. I much preferred What I Did On My Holidays, because at least in those I could invent wildly.

    Beowulf is one of those books that I occasionally hover over, and then drift away from in favour of something a little easier. I’m getting rusty; I haven’t tackled anything outside my comfort zone in bloody ages. In awe of your intrepidity. The earliest thing I’ve read in a while has been Coghill’s Chaucer, and that’s another juicy one for pulling apart on translational integrity! Such lovely fun, though.

  • Rita

    Although Beowulf is on my list to read, I have sitting in front of me : Ulysses – because in my past life as an English major, I never had the opportunity to read it.
    I have it here, but I do not have the heart to start reading it.
    Weird, i know
    Rita

  • deanna

    Wishing you luck as you return to work. I’m hoping you screwed the whole lot of them today and just stayed home one more day. =)

    Was the Beowulf flick any good?

  • lupuspie

    I think you should go to the pub, THEN go to work. 😉

  • Sol

    I wonder if it makes a difference if the language being translated from is Anglo Saxon, which is presumably a bit easier to get into modern English than, say, Finnish or Japanese.

    Anyway, it does sound like a nice evening. Hope work is treating you well now too.

