Fun, fun fun, fun fun.

Rita tagged me! Being tagged is fun!

A-Z All About Me

A – Attached or Single: Attached. Very. In fact, excuse me for a moment – I simply must go and fling my arms around H’s ankles.

B – Best Friend(s): Dear sweet V, who H and I have both known since we were all 19; E, the one man prepared to talk solid Renaissance Drama with me for four hours without drawing breath, and who has been doing this unflaggingly for the past 11 years; My Internet Nutcases – they know who they are.

C – Cake or Pie: Pie. Pecan pie, lemon meringue pie, Mississippi mud pie, Banoffee pie, the baked cheese-cake pie thing my mother makes… mmmm. Pie. Also, pie comes in Steak and Guinness flavour as well. Try doing that to cake.

D – Day of Choice: Friday. Because it’s just the one more day of work, and we all go a little nutso by lunch-time, and then I have a G&T when I get home. I look forward to it all week. Rituals are grand.

E- Essential Item: a book. I panic if I find I have left the house without one, and, in dire cases, I will have to stop and buy a whole new one. Why yes, we do run out of bookshelves every six months or so. However did you guess?

F – Favorite Color(s): Red. I got married in scarlet. I heart red that much.

G – Gummy Bears or Worms: Urgh. Neither. Sweets have to taste of liquorice, chocolate, or peppermint to get me even vaguely interested.

H – Hometown: The Great Wen, also affectionately known as Nodnol, the capital of this Sceptred Isle, smells faintly of chip-fat at all times.

I – Indulgence(s): Chocolate. Ice cream. Pie. Knitting yarn. Books. Seven library cards, which I defend by pointing at the books thing.

J – January or July: January. I am as happy as a clam with woolly socks, mittens, sweater, hat, scarf and nose-warmer on. In summer, I melt, and can’t sleep, and am disagreeable, and get hay fever, and am even more disagreeable.

K – Kids: To make a hollow laughing. Gravida 1 Para 0 was not exactly top of the list of things I wanted written on my medical record.

L – Life is incomplete without: Books. The books thing is now officially out of hand.

M – Marriage Date: March 2005 (but we’d been sharing the bathroom sink since 1997).

N- Number of Siblings: Eight. Yes. And my Mum was one of seven and my Dad was one of eleven. I am the family mutant freak.

O – Oranges or Apples: Cherries. It’s all about me so I get to be awkward.

P- Phobias or Fears: Slugs. Heights. Enclosed spaces. Pot-holing would probably kill me.

Q- Quote: ‘Who would write, who had anything better to do?’ – Byron.

R- Ring size: Wha? Why, are you planning to buy me jewellry? In that case, British size M. Which I think translates as smallish but in no way minute.

S- Season: Spring. I get a little Wordsworth about snowdrops and daffodils and birds’ nests and catkins and such.

T- Tag 3 Friends: Ooh, I get to tag people! You’re it! Hee hee! Seriously? How could I choose? Don’t make me choose. Three of you, for God’s sake, do this meme and say I tagged you.

U – Unknown fact about me: What, dear reader, could you possibly not know about me? You even know how many ovaries I do not have. You know about my cervix. *Thinks madly*. What would you like to know about me?

V – Very favorite stores: Book shops! Yay!

W – Worst Habit: I have bazillions. I bite my nails. I am the most untidy humanoid on this planet. I am a maddening know-it-all who talks incessantly through documentaries on TV. I am addicted to caffeine (this last month sucked a little in that regard. Cold Turkey! Comin’ atcha!). I leave my shed hair on the side of the bath. I leave knitting projects, complete with needles sticking out at all angles, in strange secretive places like ninja porcupine guerillas, poised to attack the unwary. I talk too much. I procrastinate. I write poetry. Did I mention I talk too much? I clearly type too much too.

X-ray or Ultrasound: I am getting very good indeed at ultrasounds. Very very practiced.

Y – Your Favorite Food(s): Lasagne. Tiramisu. Sashimi. Cherries. Not tripe or brains (yes, I have, and yes, it’s horrid). Everything else.

Z – Zodiac: Gemini

10 responses to “Fun, fun fun, fun fun.

  • seussgirl

    Wow, and I thought I liked books, but they only made it on my alphabet list once! I almost always carry a book with me everywhere I go, and I’m very sad on those few occasions where I wished I had one with me.
    Hi from NCLM!

  • Sam

    What a great list!!! I too get twitchy if I don’t have something to read!!! Dad even built me some lovely wall to wall bookshelves, and I still have books littering the house! πŸ˜‰

  • DC

    What a fun meme! I’m also a big fan of pie (just not the lupus type). πŸ˜‰

  • MsPrufrock

    So, book-lover, great lover of books, what bookstore is your favourite? I find a lot of bookstores here (as in UK vs US) sadly lacking, I’m sorry. Granted, I live in a very densely populated city which has ONE bloody bookstore. I lie, two, but the second is a uni bookstore and doesn’t really count.

    I like to sniff library books. There, I said it.

  • Robyn

    I knew there was a good reason I liked you- remove nailbiting (replace with hair twisting) and swap the poetry with stories and the W could have been all about me. And I aso love books and bookstores to the point of severe bookshelf inadequacy, and I get strange withdrawl type symptoms if I should be caught anywhere without something to read. My dad used to say it was a good thing toilet paper was blank or I would never come out of the loo.

  • Kim

    What fun! I might have to try this one! NCLM

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Bouncing up and down in agreement with Oh, so many of these.

    In particular: bookcases within 15 miles are a saved search on My Ebay. And potholers should all be shot, enabling the UK population average sanity score to rise several points. What is with those guys?

  • Rita

    When I was in uni, I worked in a library – can you believe it? And at the end of the day when I had to close up shop, I would go over the loudspeaker and sing the BeeGees until the studious kids left.
    πŸ™‚ like books, hate libraries.
    Rita

  • Queenie

    I love that you got married in scarlet.

    I’m so sorry things of late have been utterly craptastic. And I’m so sorry for the hospital experience. Every time I read something like this, I am thankful for the American healthcare I typically bitch about to other Americans.

  • Pamela Jeanne

    What a delightful series of discoveries — and so well shared…glad to have the chance to get to know you better!

