Daily Archives: June 9, 2008

East, west, home’s best

Dear all,

Just to let you know the Horrible Hospital of Gloom let me go home this afternoon. So here I am, feeling exactly like road-kill. But I’ve finally had a shower, so I am nice mango-scented road-kill.

I will now go and take my ninety-million antibiotic tablets, and then I will lie down in my comfortable, cool, vinyl-covered-mattress-free bed, where I will not be awakened once every hour by alarms, squeaky doors, other patients yelling for glasses of iced water, drip machines beeping hysterically, mobile phones going off, and nurses turning all the lights on everytime they step onto the ward even if they’re just coming in to see if everyone’s asleep. And I will not be woken up at 6am by a tired, fed-up person with a blood-pressure cuff and a somewhat cavalier attitude to the nicely developing case of post-operative phlebitis in my left arm and actual socking great catheter needle in my right arm.

Isn’t H lovely, by the way?

And so are you all. Thank you so much for all the support and virtual hugs.

