Talk to each other

The wonderful Mel, at Stirrup Queens and Sperm Palace Jesters, has organised a Commentathon. Now, I am sorry to say I am not normally a joiner – I am a shy, somewhat antisocial person, tormented by fears (irrational, dumb-ass fears) that I am boring the ears off whoever I talk to. But it has been brought to my attention – probably some good people have been trying to bring it to my attention for years – that I really need to get over myself on this one. I am perfectly able to be amusing, or apropos, or just generally not entirely obnoxious, and if I like all sorts of different comments on my blog (which I do, very much) then other people probably like all sorts of different comments on their blogs, and aren’t necessarily driven into a frenzy of irritation by my attempts at humour and/or sympathy.

So I took several deep breaths, and I signed up for the Commentathon. I will be making at least five comments a day. Even if they’re the commenty equivalent of entering a room head-first, having tripped on my own shoe-laces just outside, and dropping the tequila, showering the previous occupants with glass shards and sticky boozy spatter. Though I profoundly hope we’ll not have to go there again.

Anyway. The point is, we IF bloggers could all do with a little extra love and understanding, especially if we aren’t getting much of it in the Real World.

And, err, that’s it.

12 responses to “Talk to each other

  • MsPrufrock

    That’s a great idea, I’ll have to sign up myself since I am often a lax commentor (-er?).

    I will say that I think the comments you leave on my blog are great. You always have interesting things to say, you’re witty, and they aren’t brief. The latter is a good thing by the way. Pithy one sentence comments are fine of course, but it’s nice when someone has been interested enough by a post to take the time to say a bit more.

    Happy commenting.

  • Jackie

    Hey thanks for your comment over at my blog! I always love to meet new bloggers. I’ll be adding you to the blogroll and catching up on your story!

  • Cece

    I’m a bad commenter too – – and I signed up — and here I am! lol.

  • Natalie

    I’m glad you decided to post! Now I’ve stumbled over here into your blog. Guess you’ll have to put up with it for now. πŸ˜‰

  • karenO

    Great idea to sign up yes! How else would I have known where to find you? πŸ™‚ Just read your post about the bad cramping, and boy oh boy can I relate to that one! Thanks to modern technology I’m free of those yucky days of the month without an op, so hang in there, hope is near. Hope the cramping is totally gone by now and that it wasn’t as painful as you thought it would be to join the commentathon πŸ˜‰

  • Artblog

    there’s an open invitation at mine if you’re looking to comment πŸ™‚ Quite a party going on, come join!

    X Artblog

  • Mel

    I’m not sure if we have Pimms BUT my bar stocks everything. Everything.

    A beautiful and moving tribute to the gains from joining πŸ™‚ And commenting.

    I hope the cramps have gone away!

  • Meghan

    Hey, I am here via the commentathon – glad you signed up. I’m with Karen I hate cramping. I am waiting AF after another failed IVF cycle and I know I am in for it…..take care

  • chicklet

    I’m not normally a joiner either but figured what the hell. It’s kind of a new way to meet new people as they go to your site and you go to theirs. Good luck!

  • Matthew M. F. Miller

    Hey, it’s a great thing to spread the love to the writers you adore. I’m ready to comment away!

  • Lindsay/LJ

    I’m really enjoying the commentathon. It’s like the holidays but with constant lovely things being said.

    Anyhow, I have no assvice from your previous post, but I’m here and listening…

  • Rachel

    I am glad you joined Commentathon, I never would have found you otherwise. I am looking forward to reading your archived writings.

