Nothing to see here, so let’s meme.

Well, the nastiness is over for another few weeks, I hope, very much so, with all fingers and toes crossed, and the usual tired and soggy silence descends Chez May. We can’t be having this. Tell you what, I’ll swipe this meme from Adrienne at Max’s Mommy, and do that, in a kind of ‘not dead yet’ way.

MEME INSTRUCTIONS: Remove the blog in the top spot from the following list and bump everyone up one place. Then add your blog to the bottom slot.

  1. Life Lemons
  2. Thinking Out Loud
  3. Are We There Yet?
  4. Max’s Mommy
  5. Nuts in May

Next select five people to tag:

Like Adrienne, I feel I am a little behind-hand with this meme, and in any case, not being bewilderingly popular, I wouldn’t dare tag people. If you fancy doing it, please please do it.

What were you doing 10 years ago?

I was ‘doing’ the final year of my BA, and to my immense astonishment enjoying it thoroughly. Also, repairing my relationship with my long-distance boyfriend, which had *ahem* gone a little off the rails for a bit there. Some major communicating (also, shouting, crying and ultimatums) later we decided to move in together.

Reader, I married him.

What were you doing 1 year ago?

Wondering where the hell my period was. After all, I had come off the pill eight months previously and my gussets were pristine. Holy Hell, the IRONY. Also, having recently finished my six-months probation in my new shiny job, wondering if this was it, and my life was going to be glue and book issuing for ever and ever.

Five snacks you enjoy:

  1. Nuts. Any kind of nut. Except brazils, which are bizarre.
  2. Chocolate, alas, alas; also, the more expensive the better.
  3. Cheese on toast.
  4. Bombay mix.
  5. Olives, especially green ones.

Five songs to which you know all the lyrics:

  1. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright, by Bob Dylan. Am obsessed with Bob Dylan. We even share a birthday. Blame my parents.
  2. Amazing Grace. To be sung at top volume when feeling sad. I’m not even Christian, but hey, it works.
  3. Mr Bobby by Manu Chao.
  4. My Baby Just Cares For Me, by Nina Simone.
  5. La Sera dei Miracoli by Lucio Dalla, who is a genius, but as he sings in Italian, the world has him on ‘Ignore Special’..

Five things you would do if you were a millionairebillionaire (A million doesn’t buy a lot these days):

  1. Buy a house. Not even a big or grand one. Just a ‘mine’ one. Renting sucks.
  2. Set up a scholarship (or several) for ‘mature’ students who screwed up their Masters or Doctorates the first time round, due to Life being Shit and such, so they can have another go.
  3. Visit Canada, New Zealand, Japan, the Arctic Circle, and the Shetland Isles.
  4. Buy my husband the computer of his dreams, bless his geeky little heart. And an Alpha Romeo.
  5. Give most of it to my favourite charities, supplying wells, proper latrines, schools, books, midwives and so on to third world citizens who really could do with not walking for four hours a day to get drinking water/ medical help/ an education.

Five bad habits:

  1. Biting my nails. It’s an improvement on my childhood habit of chewing cuffs, sheet edges, toys, book corners (yes, I know, and now I’m a librarian. I’m clearly now part paper) and in extreme cases, furniture.
  2. Not exercising. I know I should. I have the time, the equipment, the local park, and the real need to, and by and large I don’t. My mother used to joke that I was part sloth.
  3. I am a rotten-bad housewife. I can happily let the flat look like an explosion in the back room of an Oxfam shop for weeks. I. Simply. Don’t. Care.
  4. On the other hand, I have to have the laundry hung up to dry just so. If H does it differently, I’ll surreptitiously re-hang it. I also have to hide if someone very sweetly offers to wash up, because they might not do it right, and I can’t bear to watch and NOT correct, which quite rightly would earn me a slap.
  5. The knitting is taking over the house, room by room. I really shouldn’t cast on a new project when I already have seven (seriously, seven) on the needles already. But I have knitting ADD.

Five things you like doing:

  1. Reading. Ooh, ready ready reading. Love love love. I even waste many happy hours feeling guilty about how much I read and how much I love it.
  2. Knitting. Natch.
  3. Writing. Though, the anxst this can also cause is A Bit Much, so it’s borderline.
  4. Cooking. I’m even good at it. Makes up for the whole house-slut thing.
  5. Going to the theatre. London is Joy Unconfined on theatre-ing.

Five things you would never wear again:

  1. Skinny jeans. With thighs like these, I look like a weeble.
  2. Skirts that reach just about to the widest part of my solid peasant calves. Because, tree-trunks. Ugh.
  3. Pastels. I am pale, but a pale olive, and somehow very pink too. Pastels make me look jaundiced. Or dead. Or both. Also, they make me look about twelve, which is no good for when ordering trouble-makers out of the library.
  4. A fringe (or bangs). Round face plus curly hair plus fringe equals only two looks – vertical fence of fluff standing right up above forehead, giving one look of startled barn-owl, or, when smoothed down, face wider than long, which is just WRONG. Why did I have to learn this the hard way?
  5. High heels. They may look lovely, but I have rather weird-shaped feet, and I can’t take the pain.

Five favorite toys:

  1. My iPod. I’ve had it for three years. It’s so old it has actual buttons as well as the wheel, and a monochrome screen. I love it madly. Commuting demons, begone. Work dreariness trapped in repairs corner behind piles of collapsing books, bliss on earth.
  2. Does the iMac count as a toy?
  3. My Gaggia espresso-maker. It burbles! It hisses! It makes cappucino!
  4. On a similar theme, my pasta-maker. For those Nigella Lawson, eat your heart out, moments. Except, of course, oops, don’t look at the mess on the floor.
  5. Is it very very sad of me to say, the DVD player? I thought so.

So, there you go. Some fragments of me. Were you bored? Sorry

3 responses to “Nothing to see here, so let’s meme.

  • MsPrufrock

    I adore reading others’ memes. I like knowing more about people sometimes beyond their vaginas. Ha.

    I don’t see how anyone can own a house in London. Is that possible for non-millionaires?

  • Mel

    I am a fellow lover of the pasta machine. I put wax paper underneath everything for quick cleanup. But it’s really never a quick clean up, is it?

    What is Bombay Mix?

  • May

    Wax paper? Now there’s a thought. I have a huge roll of that that just lurks in a kitchen drawer…

    Bombay Mix is, well, I don’t know if it IS genuinely Indian at all. But it’s basically peanuts, chickpeas, lentils, and little cracker-like doodads made of gram flour (ie more chickpeas – no, wait, you call them garbanzos, don’t you?), all deepfried and rolled in Indian spices like chilli, coriander, cumin, cinnamon, turmeric, and so on. Very spicy and salty and terrifyingly more-ish. There was a phase a few years ago in which all the more modish middle-class people served it as pre-dinner nibbles with drinks, so it got rather a reputation as a silly middle-class affectation, but I still love it. Also, we Brits are not utterly class-ridden, oh no, not a bit of it.

