I meme, you meme, we all meme for ice-cream.

This is a lovely new New Year’s meme from the Town Criers at Stirrup Queens:

The categories:
Things you learned this year
People you met
Things you don’t want to take with you into 2007
Things you want to hold close as you pass into 2007
Things you’re looking forward to in 2007
Things that were life changing in 2006
Things you hope to accomplish by the end of 2007

(see–those are the seven categories. Now you can either give two answers for each category OR you can choose two from that list and give seven answers)

Well, I am spending the evening all on my own, eating spaghetti dangerously over the key-board in my jim-jams, while the Husband of My Heart goes to a party (without me. Not that I’m bitter or anything, but his employer throws seriously grand Christmas parties and mine… doesn’t). So I may as well entertain myself with New Year thoughts. It beats the hecketty out of Christmas card lists.

Things you learned this year – 1) Nobody wants to hear about your womb lining. Especially not during dinner. Really. 2) I am actually not only good at my job, but I enjoy it and can see a career ahead of me. Considering the fact I spent the six years since leaving university bobbing about on the seas of short-term contracts and unemployment, feeling like the worlds most huge eejit, this is wildly cool and fantastic.

People you met – 1) A whole host of infant nieces and nephews, as every newly-wed female in my ginormous family spontaneously ovulated on their wedding-nights and showered us all with glorious babies. Bah humbug. 2) All these amazing bloggy people on the Internets whose example has given me permission to actually talk about this not-having-a-baby lark and whose presence has made me feel just a tad less of a freak for not being as fertile as my endlessly fissioning family.

Things you don’t want to take with you into 2007– 1) These extra five stone of lard. 2) The constant neurotic anxiety that someone somewhere is going to find me out and not let me be a writer/ employed/ a real infertile (this one is particularly tortured and neurotic, but see my long-standing relationship with doctors on this issue).

Things you want to hold close as you pass into 2007 – 1) My husband, bless his heart. 2) My sense of humour, such as it is, a silly thing, but mine own. It has occasionally deserted me before, when the going got tough. I’d really rather it didn’t.

Things you’re looking forward to in 2007 – 1) Finishing the novel. What do you mean, what novel? Surely everyone is writing a novel these days? 2) More sex. I am perfectly, straight-facedly, deeply serious.

Things that were life-changing in 2006 – 1) The sudden, irrevocable, step from ‘we might as well start trying for a baby, shall we?’ to ‘we’ve trying for a baby for a year and absolutely nothing is happening’. Which changed me from a mere whiny dumpy girl to a woman with real syndromes and things and an impending appointment with the dildo-cam. 2) People are indeed prepared to give me money in exchange for having me hanging about the place muttering about the students and kicking the photocopiers.

Things you hope to accomplish by the end of 2007 – 1) Finding a publisher for the novel. OK, an agent then. Oh all right, that I finish it at all. 2) Getting into graduate school to do an MA. Interviews end of January. Oh, pleasepleasepleaseplease.

I note with interest that I did not in any way mention babies or pregnancies in that there last point. Why? Because I am chicken. Me no mention, Fate no kick me in teeth.

Oh, bother.

3 responses to “I meme, you meme, we all meme for ice-cream.

