Crickets

Tomorrow is our wedding anniversary.

Yeah, I’m not really looking forward to it either.

28 responses to “Crickets

  • Melissa

    Oh Darling May. I wish your gentle readers could whisk you away for a day of fun and frolic and kittens and tea and make the day pass in laughter. So many hugs!

  • a

    May this first one be the worst one, and all others not as bad…

  • Dr Spouse

    I’m sure it will always be hard, and people will always say “but aren’t you over it by now”, a bit like miscarriage really.

  • Carole

    Ugh. It needed but this, but I can offer a certain gloomy sort of consolation, for what it’s worth. My mother died suddenly on December 9th 2012. The idea of dealing with bloody sodding Christmas 4 days after the funeral was high on the lists of things I really didn’t want to do. But it occurred to me that Christmas was one of those “firsts” that are supposed to be the hardest to deal with. So really one of them might as well happen when I was already as miserable as it was possible to be, rather than have it loom up a few months later and spoil whatever improvement that might have been made…So grimly cross this damned “first” off the list and trudge on – it WILL get easier.

  • Moira

    Hugs upon hugs x

    Blinking ‘special’ days, I curse you :(

  • nickeecoco

    I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow. Hugs.

  • bionicbrooklynite

    Well, WHY EVER NOT?

    Xo, and may there be something to the theory above about getting the first iteration special dates out of the way while everything is awful anyway.

  • mfamama

    Ugh. The first un-niversary was the only one I even remembered, but it was a doozie.

  • illanare

    Hugs.
    And a bucket of gin.

  • Betty M

    I’ll go with Carole’s theory too. Hugs.

  • infertilelady

    Hugs – for what they’re worth (so… not much really). But am thinking of you… and sending thoughts of biscuits, tea and soothing knitting your way x.

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    Bugger; you’d said when and I’d gone and forgotten.
    There is definitely a certain appeal to the ‘Getchor oranges while they’re still rotten!’ cry; it would be a proper sod having them bite you on the bum when fresh. *tortured metaphor ends* NEXT YEAR WILL BE BETTER.

  • wombattwo

    Another agreeing with the “get it out of the way while everything still really really sucks” school of thought here. Many hugs.

  • Sara

    Ouch.

    Find something else to do — something different, something fun, something that you wouldn’t do on an ordinary day, but most importantly, something you WOULDN’T have done on your anniversary. And know that dreading the day will probably be worse than experiencing it.

  • Valery Valentina

    I’d forgotten our anniversaries were just days apart (I seem to forget a lot these days, sorry)
    So sorry.

  • Mel

    I’m assuming (maybe not) that crickets has to do with the silence BUT crickets is what I call those unpredictable people who jump at you and fuck you over when you least expect it. The whole reason I hate crickets: that you can’t know where they’re going to move since they can move in every single direction including into the air. Fitting, nu? Sending a lot of love to get through the day.

  • Melissia

    May,
    I am one of your many readers just chiming in to say that I am thinking of you today. Hoping that it had gone as well as it could have for you. That it is almost over, and that tomorrow will be a better day. Know that your friends here are thinking of you.

  • chickenpig

    Time for a big bonfire, I suggest. With lots of junk food and booze. Even if it’s just a picture or too on a backyard hibachi, it feels good to watch something burn and say ‘good riddance’ and goodbye.

    I am thinking of you.

  • Elissa

    How deeply rubbish, I hope it has been better than expected. Hugs and much gin! Xx

  • tracey

    Thinking of you lots.

  • Mina

    The sad part is that this wedding anniversary is neither insult, nor injury in the epic introduction of those two. But it definitely is salt in a very raw, open wound. Sod off, salt.
    Hugs, May. Lots and lots, with back rubs, and shoulders to cry on, and a bottle of wine precariously balanced on a big box of Belgian chocolates. I very much do hope that it gets better, somehow, sometimes soon.

  • korechronicles

    Thinking of you and sending as much endurance as you need to get through the day. xx

  • Julia

    Treat yourself to something special, sweet May. Maybe something that you love but he disliked?

  • Emily Erin

    So it’s over now, and I hope that you found a way to snuggle kittens, or something equally un-horrible. I hope that today is a millisecond better and that the days after keep getting infinitesimally better.

  • twangy

    As the others have said: gah, unto the very ends of the earth. (That IS what they said, isn’t it.) So sorry. Bad Anniversaries: bleah, hate them – and the timing, which is so. Like. Life. It’s awful.

    A multitude of hugs, May.

  • waterbelle44

    I haven’t commented because – well no excuse really – but I am thinking about you and hating that you are going through this.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

