Covered in bees!

Item – I am still FAR TOO CROSS to compose a dignified, graceful, tactful email to HR Minion of Shame about the inadvisability of comparing IVF to ‘a cosmetic procedure’. We’ll see how calm and Emily Post I am feeling tomorrow.

Item – I am extremely grateful for the outbreak of outrage in the comments on my previous post. Thank you! Exactly!

Item – Back to Riverside this morning for another scan, stab and consult. For some reason they were somewhat constipated and I was there from 10:00 to 11:45, which seems a tad excessive, despite all the free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water you can drink and hot-and-cold running orchids in every room.

Item – So ƜberScanningLady and I peered at my uterus, admired the plumpening lining, and then peered at Satsuma, who had taken something to heart (75 extra units of Gonal-F a night, I should think) and had 29 visible follicles. They were all, however, quite tiny, one being 10mm, four more being about 8 or 9mm, and the rest under 5mmm. Which all gave rise to a series of circular conversations, first with ƜberScanningLady and then with the nurse, along the lines of ‘well, 29 follicles is quite a few, but they’re all quite small, especially considering your oestrogen level, which is nice and high, and your AMH, but then there are 29 of them, which is good, but they are small, really, but on the other hand, 29… Let me go and ask Dr George…’

Item – Upshot, eventually, stay on 225 units of Gonal-F a night, and start Cetrotide (Cetrorelix) tonight! W00t! Or something!

Item – And then I went to work, and did a late shift, and have come home in a state of mind best described as ‘bloody’, as all the colleagues I had to deal with decided today was a good day to be needy, whiny, vague, and tiresome. Yes! Of course I’m interested in your kitchen sink leak! And the argument you had with your boss! Tell me more! Please! Or at least have the grace to turn up for your shift on time! Arse! Feck! Girls! Booze!

Item – H and I lined up the New Improved Chemistry Experiment kit on the kitchen table, and I did the Gonal-F shot first, as that’s easy. And then I read and re-read the Cetrotide instructions, and felt stirrings of panic and gloom. Uncap the vial of powder. Wipe the top of the vial with the provided alcohol swab. Take the cap off the syringe filled with sterile water. Screw on the big needle. Uncap the big needle (cripes, it’s huge) and stick it through the rubber top of the vial. Squeeze the water into the vial (surprisingly fiddly, and made me feel I was made of slippery thumbs). Gently ‘swirl’ the water about in the vial, this with the syringe still sticking out the top, how did I not drop the sodding lot? Panic a little at the undissolved lumps, realise they have dissolved. Try to suck all the medication out of the vial, fuck it up, and end up with an air-bubble the size of an olive (and now I want a martini). Recap and unscrew the big needle and replace it with the little needle. This step is very important. Point the needle skywards, flick the syringe to encourage the monster air-bubble to the top, and squeeze the plunger, slowly and carefully, until a tiny bead of liquid appears at the needle’s tip, indicating all the air is gone, or, if you prefer and are still having eighteen slippery thumbs, until a jet of the horribly expensive medication sprays out and you feel like a total pillock. Now select a portion of tummy to victimise, and wipe it with the other alcohol swab. Insert the needle, which isn’t actually all that bad, and slowly (I’ve been warned) depress the plunger (I told it all about Matt Smith leaving Doctor Who. Boom tish).

Item – When I pulled the needle out, there was a drop of blood, and that was it. Huh, I thought, no biggie. And then three minutes later someone unceremoniously jammed a handful of nettles down my jeans. This stuff stings like a bitch. I have an actual hive. Eventually I whined so much H brought me an ice-pack, which helped, but Holy Mary Mother of God, every night? For over a week?

Item – Tomorrow morning I start the Prednisolone. And may God have mercy on our souls.

20 responses to “Covered in bees!

  • Bachelor's Button

    Oh goodness! I start exactly this again as of tomorrow. The jabs I can do, but the prednisolone turns me into an overstimulated (mentally) bloated (physically and mentally) she monster. Take it in the mornings if you wish to sleep!

  • Jo

    Still here, rooting you on every step of the way. You can do this. You WILL do this. And many lovely embryos will be produced. So there.

  • Cathy

    With luck the prenisolone will dampen down the stinging reaction

  • Cathy

    prednisolone

  • starrhillgirl

    Nettles. Good to know. I haven’t started my cetrotide yet. I like you being slightly ahead of me.

  • bionicbrooklynite

    If certotide is roughly ganirelix, then me, too with the bees. It only lasted a couple of hours for me, though, so I hpe yours is similar.

    Also, twenty-NINE?? Yikes, Satsuma. Way to bring it.

  • Amy P

    Methinks Satsuma’s showing off.

  • a

    I had some sort of steroid all the way through, which probably prevented the nettles and such. Which was good, because I am allergic to repeat injections. Not kidding – if I inject myself more than about twice, I get a terrible rash which takes weeks to go away. And when I told doctors about it (and tell the people who suggest acupunture to me), they look at me like I’m crazy.

    So, yay for 29 follicles. Here’s to 10 or 15 of them growing to a nice, useful size for harvesting! So glad you have all this information to keep track of, because that means more frequent updates. :)

  • Hairy Farmer Family

    29! Sats, there could be a prize in it for you at this rate! Careful now!

  • chon

    29!! Be careful of that cosmetic OHSS ok

  • minichessemouse

    29! Bloody Hell satsuma! I did wonder if kunquat would join in. Maybe ask uberscanninglady to have a peek, just for shitz and giggles.

    Also sucks about the nettles/bees (I do so love Mr Izzard) many hugs for that one.

  • Valery Valentina

    Sorry about the tiresome and vague colleagues. And the bees.
    5 big ones and 24 smaller, crikey. Is it too early to worry about this being quite uneven? Not that worrying would be helpful, but still. Take good care of yourselves. (and your thumbs will get less slippery every day. Well, most of them anyway ;-)

  • Sheila

    Good job satsuma – now just don’t try to show off by over doing it and giving our May OHSS….

    Agree with pred in the morning or you will never sleep. On the plus side, it clears up eczema no end and your skin will glow within about 2 days!

    Meanwhile I’m still shaking my head in disbelief about that HR harlot….

  • MFA Mama

    Atta girl, Sats! Now steady as she goes.

    Sorry to hear about the whole covered-in-bees thing. As someone who is regularly, well, covered in actual, literal bees, I feel your pain. At least the syringe doesn’t buzz menacingly around your head before it strikes, and you get to pick the spot?

  • Kylie

    Ouch, not sure where pregnyl fits in the drug line up, but I had to do the whole mix and transfer and needle thing, and yes hives and itchies. I have the vague feeling that clexane also caused nettle stinging ( and bruises. ).

    And the HR thing? Maybe a politely worded email to both her and her boss defining the difference between cosmetic and elective and that words are important?

    Fingers crossed for good egg retrieval and fertilization.

  • Twangy

    Proud to see you haven’t forgotten your Irish!

    NO SERIOUSLY NOW. Fingers in crossed position for retrieval. 29 sounds very good! Now GROW.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

