Launch of the Good Ship Endeavour

My period began, eventually, after a lot of spotting and dicking about, on Sunday.

That’s it. Sunday 26th. Suppression starts in three weeks. We’re off.

Therefore and for maximum narrative drive, I had one of the worst first-days-of-period I’ve had since I started using diclofenac suppositories and tramadol. I had been taking NSAIDs since Friday, as advised by my GP, and therefore was reasonably sanguine the Dread Lord Cute Ute would not tear too great a hole in the fabric of space-time, but no. Ha-ha. She went for full on End Of Universe. Poor H, who was angelically rubbing my back, or my feet, or replenishing hot-water-bottles, or rinsing out the basin I’d just been violently sick in, was absolutely shell-shocked by the time the bloody drugs started to work and I finally dozed off, whimpering, on Sunday evening. It is now Tuesday, and I still feel like I have been beaten about the lower back and abdomen with an iron bar.

(And I’m not entirely pleased at Cute Ute’s habit of menstruating violently on or about the anniversary of miscarriages. It’s not even passive-aggressive. It’s aggressive-aggressive. She’ll get a show all to herself on Criminal Minds if she’s not careful).

Anyway! H and I turned to each other and said, with one voice, ‘I hope we don’t have to go through that much more often.’ Grim smiles. I held up my new prescription of diclofenac-per-jacksie and also stated, very firmly, that I had better not need to refill it in four months’ time.

And then we looked at each other. Because either this will work, or I will Take Steps To Abolish Menstruation.

12 responses to “Launch of the Good Ship Endeavour

  • waterbelle44

    YOU CAN DO THIS (IVF)! Virtually and non-creepily holding your hand, or at least patting it gingerly. Also fuck, that (menstruation) sounds absolutely horrible.

  • a

    This will work.

  • Mina

    I vote for this will work too.

  • Sheila

    Best of luck….

  • HAT

    A “friend” on facebook posted one of those Som-ee-cards (usually filled with sarcasm and such) it said “remember Cramps are better than Labour pains” (she has many children and has odd sense of humour. Anyways. I defy anyone , even the worst labour’d woman to compare that to what you survive each month. And worse nothing to show for it, but an amazing blog. anyways. Hope this is the last time you must endure such a torturous regime.

  • bionicbrooklynite

    I am wearing my best hat and gloves and cracking a bottle of champers on you in honor of the moment. Um, or something. Bubbles!

  • chon

    Oh yay. This is just a little exciting. Come on May you can do this!

  • MFA Mama

    If this does work, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised by actual labor pains. They’re right up there with the worst endometriosis cramps I’ve ever experienced, but certainly no worse.

  • Twangy

    Oh, May. [insert unprintable Irish curses here]. That sounds HORRENDOUS.
    Hoping fervently you don’t have to experience it again, for all the right reasons.

  • Womb For Improvement

    So hoping that is the last day one for a long long time.

  • Valery Valentina

    From this it feels like you are ‘on the same page’. Hope the worst of shark week is over already. HMS Endeavour discovered Australia and New Zealand (yes I looked it up), by some considered the end of the world. Hope that your scientific exploration will open new worlds for you two too.

  • korechronicles

    No bubbles here but a half decent bottle of Shiraz. Raising it to better days, minus the despicable endo, ahead.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

