I think my boss likes me

The Occupational Health report! Yes. My place of work received it, and my boss arranged a meeting, and we met, and I was rather nervous because, you know, cuts in pay or working extra hours were both on the table and I didn’t know which was going to come up. I was hoping for cuts in pay, because working extra hours when I already get this bloody tired seemed miserable.

I am well aware we, H and I, are very lucky to be able to take a pay-cut without much in the way of struggle and angst.

However, Boss Lady’s agenda was completely different. Completely:

  1. She wanted a better understanding of adenomyosis and endometriosis, both generally (she’s not familiar with the details beyond knowing they are gynaecological problem and painful), and of how they affect me. And she did this with grace, humour, and compassion.
  2. She was also very understanding and compassionate about the whole ‘can’t remove uterus, burn it, and dance on its ashes because we’re still trying to procreate’ thing.
  3. She was very unkeen on the idea of my taking a pay-cut or working more hours. She felt quite strongly that as I have a legitimate medical condition, I shouldn’t be put in the position of doing more to compensate. There is quite a lot of complicated office politics behind this, including issues around other members of staff with serious health problems, and other members of staff with – ohh, just say it – serious mooching issues. We both assiduously pretended we had absolutely no particular people in mind at all and anyway neither of us had just alluded to that situation at all.
  4. Also, this is Britain, where we have actual laws protecting workers from discrimination and firing and such because of health issues. At least, we have these laws at the moment (fucking Tories), so I should take advantage of them while they’re still in force.
  5. Decision taken – we carry on as is, but I set my computer up so I can work from home on days when I am ill and miserable but not catatonic or bathroom-floored. On the strict understanding that I only attempt to do some work when I really am feeling able to and don’t wear myself out or try to code under tramadol.

So there’s that. Currently reprogramming laptop. Onwards.

27 responses to “I think my boss likes me

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

