Daily Archives: August 8, 2010

Some days are very fine

More ‘The Internet is where all the best people live!’ excitement – I got to have a drink with Twangy Pearl on Wednesday. We tracked each other down near my work place via text (‘Woman in pink with insane hair. Approaching fountain. Code-word: ‘I swear I’m not here to kidnap you’) and went for coffee and hot chocolate. Well, sprinted for, as the Heavens Opened, British Summer Official Stylee.

Twangy is adorable. What a lovely, funny, sweet, intelligent woman. What a nice chat we had.

And as a bonus we collected our respective husbands and rushed to the pub through more sudden downpours, for a slightly more grown-up drinkie and alas, a deal of me rattling on and on about bricks (see, the bricks in Dublin are a beautiful shade of salmon pink, and the ones over here are either Choleric Red or Bilious Yellow, so… Blast, I’m doing it again, aren’t I? Shutting up about it right now. Sorry. I babble when I’m shy, and I tend to get wedged on whatever random subject first pops into my head. Aren’t we lucky it was Comparative Masonry rather, than, say, The Drains or Politics? Oh, damn, I did mention politics, didn’t I, and I got my facts Drastically Wrong, and everyone was so nice to me about it instead of laughing and pointing – sorry. Shutting up really really now)

The JB is also a charming person, by the way, and I came away feeling I’d had a very good evening indeed. Hurrah!

I have often had cause to mention that I have met nothing but splendid people via the Internet. I ain’t takin’ it back, no how.

And then H and I went to dinner together – ah the joys of being DINKYs [insert sarcastic snorty noise here] – and then on to the Proms, for some late night Stravinsky, and I am probably committing some kind of sin against Radio 3, but late Serial Stravinsky isn’t as good as early Russian Folk Stravinsky OR middle neo-classicist Stravinsky. So there.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers